Tuesday Night Vego Challenge – Stuffed Eggplant

I know, two posts in one night is unheard of for me, but they’re both Tuesday deals that I wanted to get involved in.  Linda from The Witches Kitchen runs the Tuesday Night Vego Challenge.  The idea is that vegetarian meals don’t have to be difficult or time consuming, that you can easily put one together quickly for a mid-week meal, using only produce actually in season and as local as possible and they have to be healthy.  I decided to give it a go so as to use what I harvest in more interesting ways, to increase the vegetable intake and decrease the meat consumption for my family.  My first attempt didn’t stick to the time rule, but actual hands on preparation was quick.

My goal this week was to start using the eggplants that are plentiful at the moment and I sometimes don’t know what to do with.  I came across this recipe for stuffed eggplant (imam bayildi) which I thought looked delicious.  The ingredients were onions, garlic, tomatoes, capsicums, parsley and feta, all of which I could buy fresh, in season and from fairly local producers – no garlic from China here.  All, that is, except the feta, I always buy Greek feta because it’s just so much nicer in my experience.  Does anyone know of a really good Australian feta that is easy to get (ie one that is stocked in delis)?  The eggplants came from the garden, I wish the capsicums did but mine are all green and it really needed red capsicums.  Perhaps next year I can get my capsicums and eggplants to produce at the same time as the tomatoes and I would have almost all of these ingredients in the garden.

So while I wasn’t too strict with the rules, sorry Linda, it was a hit with the family, including my fussy Miss Three.  Having said that, even after the skins were simmered to soften them, I found them unpleasant to eat.  I do find eggplant flesh absolutely fabulous when slow cooked, and it’s sufficiently ‘meaty’ to satisfy a devoted carnivore like Mr Good.  Coupled with the tomato and capsicum and plenty of parsley and feta this was a thoroughly enjoyable dinner.  I teamed the eggplants with a very simple salad of lettuce, cherry tomatoes and homegrown cucumber (the plant that just keeps on giving) with a dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

So there you have it my first Tuesday Night Vego post, hopefully I can keep it going.

This entry was posted in cooking, Tuesday Night Vego Challenge, vegetarian cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tuesday Night Vego Challenge – Stuffed Eggplant

  1. Andrea says:

    Love the idea of cooking whats only in season and using whats from your garden .
    Your first Tuesday night meal ticks the boxes for me…………..
    The ONLY vego meal of sorts i can get past my man is Quiche and steamed veggies or fried rice.

    • Barbara Good says:

      I sometimes struggle to get Mr Good to enjoy a vego meal, but he eats whatever I cook so I just do what I feel like sometimes. Having said that I have had some winners, and this and eggplant parmigiana have both won his approval. For some reason eggplant is meatier than other vegies so it’s more to his taste. My sister has a VERY determined carnivore partner and even he likes eggplant parmigiana – not that he knew that’s what he was eating the first time.

  2. I love stuffed eggplants. Eggplant absorbs flavours so well! But I agree with you – I leave the skin too. Funny, because when it is chopped up in things I never even notice the skin. It’s Tuesday Night Vego in spirit. Might take more than half an hour to cook, but it is quick and easy and healthy and in season.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh I’m glad it’s not just me disliking the skins – I really tried to like it because I’m sure that’s where all the good things are nutrition-wise, but I failed. I agree that when it’s cut up – like in a green curry or something – then I don’t notice the skins. It is a great vegetable for taking on flavour – a bit like cauliflower in that way – but it also absorbs a lot of oil so I try to make sure I watch how much of that I use.
      And I can attest to the ease of preparation, I did this while looking after two half-way grumpy girls without stressing to much. The most time was letting it sit with salt to draw out the bitterness (I don’t bother with this if they’re smaller but these were quite large) and then the baking. The actually chopping, frying, stuffing etc was done in about twenty minutes.

  3. Barambah fetta is delicious and also organic. You can get it in good delis now, and also from organic shops.

  4. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the recipe! :)

  5. Pingback: Tuesday’s Top Five – Ways with Eggplant | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

