Winter Wednesday – Bare Rooted

Only available at this time of year, this week’s Winter post is to welcome three new bare rooted trees to my increasing productive little garden.  I had been meaning to buy them for ages but kept changing my mind about which trees I wanted and then decided to rip the whole garden out at once and prepare the soil before getting them.  Procrastination on this task meant that I’ve only just gotten around to doing the necessary work.

The garden was ripped out on the weekend and the trees were brought home.  I’m yet to dig in the compost so they won’t be planted until this coming weekend.

In the end I went with two varieties of apple – Granny Smith and Jonathan – as well as a Santa Rosa Plum.  I adore plums, well the plum I remember from my childhood anyway – so was desperate to get one of these and it will be going into the most prestigious position in the garden.  The Santa Rosa wasn’t my first choice – it’s a yellow fleshed plum and I prefer the red ones – but it is one of very few varieties that are self pollinating and I don’t have room for another full sized tree.  I’ll be doing some hunting to find a dwarf mariposa plum or similar but they seem to be very rare indeed.  I have a spot picked out for two more dwarf trees, probably stone fruit or citrus but that will have to wait for now.

I think this summer I’m going to go a fair way to growing most of our vegetable requirements with just the odd topping up from the green grocer or local markets.  I’d love to be able to do the same with fruit and these bare rooted trees are the first tentative steps in that direction.  Any tips of planting and caring for bare rooted trees or fruit trees in general would be greatly appreciated from those more experienced than me.

Join Hazel for more winter themed posts here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Winter Wednesday – Bare Rooted

  1. Andrea says:

    Great way to celebrate Winter buying new trees!! thats treciting!
    My rule of thumb when planting (or replanting) trees, make sure hole is big enough so roots are nice and straight, no curved roots , trim lightly if needed. Good Luck.

  2. Hazel says:

    Weekly feeds of seaweed or aquasol even while they are still leafless…encourages root growth.

  3. Thanks for the tips Andrea and Hazel, I’ll make sure I do both of those.

  4. I don’t have any tips for fruit trees. I’m lucky to have 40 year old lemon and plum trees in our garden. I do absolutely nothing to them – except prune the odd branch that gets in the way. Oh and eat the fruit of course. How lucky to manage all your own veggies over summer. That’s fantastic.

    • Very jealous Veggiegobbler, I told my husband for the next house we buy I’ll be picking it based on the amount of garden in direct sunlight and on that has an existing lemon tree. I have a four year old dwarf lemon that has not grown an inch, has never had a fruit or flower and is currently leafless for the second or maybe third time. In other words it’s very sick. Let’s hope I have better luck with these new trees.

      Oh and it may be wishful thinking on my behalf to grow all our own summer veg, but I’ll give it a good go.

  5. claire says:

    Congrats on the new trees…….. no matter how large or small your garden is,it’s so rewarding growing your own fruit and veg. You can always plant up some pots for herbs, tomatoes and lettuce. It’s a shame more people don’t try it………

    We have a couple of orchards, one is for stone fruit which I absolutely love. Can’t beat a sun ripened and warmed peach or nectarine eaten straight form the tree, juice running down your arm…….

    In the other orchard we have 3 citrus trees and some cherries.

    Hubby looks after the orchards, so I can’t offer any tips I’m afraid. All the best with them.

    Claire :}

  6. Suzanne says:

    Our plum tree was here when we bought our home, it is a Satsuma, it is just perfect in every way…for eating off the tree, jam, stewing, freezing…you name it…and the tree is soooo old and half of it is missing and we dont get around to pruning the darling some years and she keeps on producing, her branches are the shape of a love heart, and the lady birds lay their eggs on her and right beneath its trunk is a fairy garden….can ya tell I love my plum tree…????

  7. Suzanne says:

    Oh, when I put my bare root peach tree in a few weeks back, the guy told me to prune a third off of each branch, round about ……I did that…and there are lots of buds coming…reminds me , thanks Hazel, I need to give it a drink of worm wee…eewww, …

  8. Mrs Bok says:

    Yay! Great winter gift to your garden 🙂 I love that plums are one of the first to blossom in our garden. Ours are very young too like yours but I’m hopeful for fruit in a year or two! 🙂 Lors of wormwee and seaweed.

  9. Kristi says:

    Oh Santa Rosa plums! Yummmmy! We have a Santa Rosa tree, and for some reason, it looked like it was going to die, but lo and behold, it’s coming back! We also have a dwarf apple with a few different kinds (I may or may not have pruned off some important grafted branches tho), and it’s perfect for us. In addition to those, we have blood orange, valencia orange, meyer lemon and a fig tree (not yet planted). I can’t wait until they are all producing well.

    I’m going to have to go back and read through your blog, but my assumption is that you have a pretty large garden if you are producing all the veggies you need. Are you putting them up for winter as well? I have a few garden plots but we’re not producing most of our veggies—I’m still buying A LOT of them. Hopefully this year we’ll get plenty of zucchini, tomatoes, carrots, green onion and herbs, but I know we won’t get many green beans, unfortunately—not enough bean bushes.

    Anyway, I could ramble all day long, but that would be boring for you, I’m sure, so I’ll leave off there. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  10. Wow, lots of advice on this one, so thank you everyone.

    Suzanne – yes we were told to prune about a third off when we plant them so will be doing that along with the seaweed and/or worm wee. I would LOVE a satsuma – that’s what I had growing up – but was told they needed a second pollinator, do you have two trees. Or perhaps there’s another one near enough to you.

    Mrs Bok, I’m also hoping for fruit in a year or two or three.

    Kristi – Sounds like you have some great trees at your place. Our neighbour has two huge fig trees and they don’t eat figs so I get buckets of fruit from them – actually being a traditionally Greek area there are figs and lemon trees everywhere. I made lots of yummy fig jam this year. Actually I have quite a small yard, our house was only built four years ago and the block it’s on used to accommodate one house, but now has three. We bought this one because it had the largest yard, but still small. I have just converted the whole yard into vegetable plots. We eat mostly salad in summer and I’ve been able to grow all our own lettuce (grows up wild everywhere now), tomatoes, zucchini, cuccumber, eggplant, spinach, and herbs in past years. This time I’m hoping to be able to do the same with beans, corn, pumpkin, capsicums, spring onions and maybe a few other things.

    • Kristi says:

      Sounds like you are doing what we’re trying to do over here too. We have .18 of an acre, so we’ve got plenty of space, even if it doesn’t sound like a lot. How big is your land?

  11. Diana says:

    We don’t have any fruit trees since we are renting and no space either. So I always have a longing face when I see fruit tree for sale at the nursery. Happy that you got to plant a plum tree. That is my favourite fruit.

Leave a Reply

