Winter Wednesday – A day with the literary greats

Another truly winter Wednesday here, cold, wet and windy – but I think we need a few more such days before the end of the season just to make sure we really appreciate the Spring.  I spent this morning in pure indulgence going to see Jane Eyre at a babes in arms movie session.  This week I am toddler-free and while I love the time I spend with Miss Two, having a break every now and again is a necessity.  So after packing her off with my parents for some time in the country I started to think about the things I would like to do but don’t or can’t with a toddler in tow.  Top of my list was catching a movie, just me and bub being absorbed into the world of Charlotte Bronte.

Jane Eyre Poster

The world she created strangely mirrored the day outside, cold, windy and grey.  This latest adaptation of her most well known novel was beautiful, yet captured her dark, somewhat depressing feel.  The tragic romance between Jane and Mr Rochester is stunningly retold against a backdrop of a harsh and barren landscape.  Though as with every winter, spring eventually comes and the sun brings warmth and life to the earth.  I would usually say that I enjoyed the book far more than the movie, but this was truly loyal to Bronte’s work.

Now the question is are you in Mr Rochester’s camp or Mr Darcy’s camp – can you be both?  This afternoon I intend to continue my literary indulgence by putting on the brilliant BBC series Pride and Prejudice while I bake up a storm (I know this one so well I can multi task and still take it all in).  I have had a love affair with Austen for a very long time and have lost count of how many times I’ve read or watched Pride and Prejudice – her greatest achievement in my opinion, though I love them all.  Mr Rochester has it all over Mr Darcy in terms of the passionate proposal, but then Mr Rochester wasn’t, at the time, free to offer his hand at all.  Mr Darcy thankfully redeems himself fully of his initial arrogance.  Though no matter how charming and gorgeous the men are, it is the women in both Austen’s and Bronte’s novels that I am drawn to.  Women who reclaim their own lives in times when this was seemingly impossible.  Women who show strength of mind, determination and independence in a world solely designed for the benefit of men.

What better way to spend a winter’s afternoon than in the company of Lizzie Bennett and chocolate cake?

Once again linking up with Hazel, check out her blog for other winter ideas.

This entry was posted in Books, WInter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter Wednesday – A day with the literary greats

  1. Rose says:

    You are a woman after my own heart! I love those titles too and am planning to see Jane Eyre, thanks for the recommendation.

  2. Kristi says:

    O.k i’m on my way over to your place 😉

  3. Liz says:

    Definitely Darcy – I too fell in love with him the moment I saw Pemberly – all that vegetable growing space – who could resist….

  4. Andrea says:

    What a great way to spend the day! is there any cake left? A lovely chance for your parents to spend time with little Miss 2, grandparents are very special and have so much wisdom.
    Enjoy the rest of your break! Ciao.

  5. Mrs Bok says:

    Sounds like a fantastic way to while away the afternoon. I am definitely a Mr Darcy kind of girl…

  6. Looks like we have a few Mr Darcy fans, I mean who among us could resist the scene when Lizzie meets Darcy at Pemberly for the first time. And Liz I had never considered the veggie growing potential on offer at that great house, how stupid of me. Though Rochester’s Thornfield also had a pretty impressive garden.

    Rose, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the film when you see it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Kristi – I’ll put the kettle on for you, fellow baking and Austen lovers always welcome.

    Andrea – plenty of cake left, some will go into the freezer for later. I agree about grandparents being so special and treasure the close relationship Miss Two has with all of hers. I foster this mostly because of a special connection I had with my maternal grandparents, my grandfather’s still around and is amazing at nearly 90. Sadly my grandmother died last year and I miss her terribly.

    Mrs Bok – it was a wonderful afternoon and all the more appreciated now because having some quiet time to myself is so rare these days.

  7. Alison says:

    I am a woman for both. I sat and watched the start of the series again for a crafternon with a friend. Although after Lost in Austen I’m now always curious about the perspective that’s delivered on those men and whether its really a whole truth…
    Mind you, I didn’t like Rochester until the BBC 4-part series. Still, it only takes one cloud for me to look sideways at anything but the US Pride and Prejudice! 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Great viewing for a crafternoon, though I’m curious about Lost in Austen, I’ve obviously missed that one, is it a book or film? I think I’ll have to check it out. I’m totally with you on the US version, totally destroyed it. And to be honest I’m pretty happy watching a bit of P & P in any weather, I just feel less guilty when it’s wintry outside.

  8. Tania says:

    Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre were both equal favourites for me as a teenager. So I think you can most certainly do both though they have totally different moods to them. I haven’t seen any movie adaptations in years – might have to check them out. But they are never quite as good as the book, are they?

Leave a Reply

