Welcome and thanks for the comments

Thought I would pop in quickly today – I don’t usually blog on a Thursday, but being toddler-free for a few days gives me so much more time – and write a quick post to welcome those new to my little blog.  I seem to have picked up some new followers lately (I think it might have helped that I finally found how to put a subscribe button on my homepage – feel free to press it to get new posts delivered to your email inbox) and love getting to know you all.  Please feel free to comment at any time, I’m always on the look out for advice, recommendations or just a friendly hello.  I also try to return the favour and check out your blogs – if you have one – and will usually leave a comment for you there.

So in light of having some new ‘faces’ around I thought it an appropriate time to re-introduce myself and to sort out this whole name issue.  I’m a wife and mum of two (a two year old and a four month old) as well as being a high school teacher currently on family leave.  I love to cook, garden, read and live a fairly quiet life, taking time to enjoy the small things and focus on the positive.  I’m a bit of a history/retro buff and have been working my way through classic retro recipes and those things that every Australian cook should know how to make, you know things like a sponge cake (work in progress), scones (mastered) and pavlova (yet to attempt) .  My second and growing love is for gardening and I’ve just converted almost my entire back garden into a veggie growing haven.  I also ramble on about random things – including my kids – every now and again but try to keep a lid on this as much as possible.

For a number of reasons, like most bloggers, I try maintain a certain amount of anonymity on the internet so I have never given my name, but not having a blog name at all also seems problematic.  I gave this blog the title ‘The New Good Life’ as a tribute to the BBC series The Good Life (had to add new as the original name had been taken already) which I loved – though it seems somewhat sexist now – and also because it was symbolic of the life I aspire to – simple, homegrown and taking time to just enjoy living.  In light of this I thought perhaps an appropriate blog name might be Barbara (female lead in the show) or perhaps Mrs Good – that way I could also have Mr Good, Miss Good and Baby Good – what do you think?

So that’s me and my blog in a nutshell, I’m sure it will evolve as life goes on but I look forward to sharing it all with you.  Thanks for visiting and especially for taking to time comment.

This entry was posted in Blogs, General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome and thanks for the comments

  1. Suzanne says:

    Hi Barbara Good, please dont keep a lid on your kids….they will grow with you, like your garden, and your blog and your ever increasing pile of recipes conquered……… 🙂 Kids are good, you said so yourself..lol….

  2. Bruisemouse says:

    I think it was perfect timing for me to come across your blog. I lost track of how I got here after a late night blog reading. What a great first post for me to read. You have explained it all before I have even started to read. Excellent!
    Looking forward to reading some more over the next few days.
    Cheers

  3. Barbara Good says:

    Thanks Suzanne, I’ll remember that, kids are good! They are definitely growing with my garden and my blog, sometimes I wish I could hit pause, but I love watching the little people they are becoming.

    Bruisemouse – it is perfect timing. I know what you mean about losing track of how you get from one blog to another, there are so many great ones out there. I’ll be sure to check yours out too. Great name by the way!

  4. Mrs Bok says:

    Hullo! I’m calling you Barb! 🙂

Leave a Reply

