Winter Wednesday – Ummmmmmm….

On the second last Wednesday of Winter I think I’ve officially run out of Winter Wednesday ideas, perhaps that’s because it feels well and truly like Spring here.  The garden is look great after spending almost all day for the last two out there weeding, watering, sweeping and inspecting.  We’ve been lapping up every minute of sunshine we can, it must be helping my vitamin D deficiency mustn’t it.

I finally got around to ordering some seeds, a bit late I know.  I was looking at the Diggers site and again saw their ‘low income’ collection, it states that you can grow 2 tonnes of food for just $20.  This sounds incredible to me, and so I decided to put it to the test and ordered the seed collection.  Now the website doesn’t give a great deal of information on how exactly it’s come to this conclusion not does it stipulate what size plot etc that you require so I’ll be interested to see if there’s any fine print.  I have a small garden and none of it is really in FULL sun.  Most of my beds get full sun for PART of the day.  Having said that I’ve always been relatively successful are growing veggies so this should be no different I assume.

Anyway, my plan is to chart exactly how much I manage to produce from these seeds and see if I get anywhere near the TWO TONNES.  I thought it was time for another project anyway so this seemed perfect.

Well, not much of a Winter Wednesday post except perhaps to say ‘bye bye’ Winter and ‘hello’ Spring.

Linking to Hazel’s Winter Wednesday.

This entry was posted in WInter. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter Wednesday – Ummmmmmm….

  1. Bruisemouse says:

    It is great that Spring is springing for you. Nothing better than the warm sun on your back and a bucket full of weeds by your side.
    Good luck with the seeds. Sounds like a great deal.

  2. Hazel says:

    Ooop! I miscounted. But hey, I am so over Winter. Thanks for joining in yet again.

  3. Liz says:

    I love this idea – although I am a bit unhappy with Diggers as they always take too long to send me my seeds – still I am really really looking forward to finding out how this goes. I have one of their gardening books – op shop find – and it does have lots of details in there about how to maximise yield etc – strangely most of these methods seem to revolve around buying Diggers seeds…..

  4. Rose says:

    What a great project! I’ve seen that claim, it will be interesting to see how you go.

  5. ali says:

    Ooo I have always wanted to do this! From memory there is more info of how to do it in one of the Diggers books, but I can’t remember which one. That’s helpful hey. My dad and I have always been very skeptical of the claims but we haven’t tried it, so who knows. Make sure you document it all hey, I’ll be so interested to hear how you go.

  6. Barbara Good says:

    Sounds like it wasn’t just me struck by the impressive claims from Digger’s and I must say I too am more than a little skeptical.

    Liz – I’m hoping I don’t have the same problem with Digger’s, I already left it a bit late to order them without then having to wait ages for the delivery.

    Rose – Perhaps I should call this one the Barbara Good Project. I think I like the sound of that.

    Ali – perhaps I should be looking into the books for a little more information, I’ll see what I think when I get the pack. And fear not every step will be documented. Not sure what I’m going to do with two tonnes of fresh produce if it does live up to their claims.

  7. Andrea says:

    Hi Barbara, Guess what i did on this Winter Wednesday? visited the Diggers Garden, Garden of St Earth in Blackwood.My friend Wendy and i had good walk around the gardens and then checked out their range of seeds(huge) and plants for sale. I think you probably got a good deal for a selection of seeds for $20 as they are quite expensive to buy seperately, i have plenty of veggie seeds so brought some coneflower seeds and a wildflower meadow mixture to try. I to will be interested to see how much produce you grow from your seeds and i wouldn’t worry to much about your veggie beds not being in full sun all day. Iv’e found a little shade brings relief to veggies/fruit from the hot sun during our summer months and quite often put up shade cloth on the really hot days. I have plenty of parsley and lettuce (mix) to share if you like. Good luck with your new Project!
    Ciao.

  8. Katie says:

    Good luck! I’ve been pouring over the Digger’s seed catalogue too. I think in one of their fact files it might tell you how much space you need, but even so you’d have to be an extremely green thumb to manage it I think.

  9. Pingback: The Barbara Good Project #1 | The New Good Life

  10. Christine says:

    I’ve been wanting to buy that low income earners pack, but apparently you need to be in possession of a health care card to get it, and I have no idea how to go about getting one!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh I didn’t need a healthcare card when I ordered it, but I have to say my results were pretty dismal. I actually wouldn’t recommend it, I think I’ve had much better yields and better germination rates from lots of other seeds, both from diggers and other places. Just as an example the stringless beans that came in that pack were nowhere near as robust or productive as the red runner beans I bought, both from diggers and the cucumbers were not very tasty at all. I think you’re better getting recommendations from other gardeners, especially if they live near you.

Leave a Reply

