Simple Monday – What’s for dinner?

You may have noticed a bit of a lull in the posts lately.  Initially this was just because life got busy, but this time it’s because I’ve been staying with my parents in country Western Victoria for a little while with the two girls.  This is Baby Good’s first trip to my home town.  The drive used to take me about three hours without stops and I usually left first thing in the morning and got home by lunch time.  Now, with a toddler and a baby, it takes MUCH longer and requires several stops and I have to time my trip to coincide with sleeps.  I’ve done the trip a number of times on my own with Miss Two when she was younger.  She, despite recently developing travel sickness, is a really good car traveler and sleeps much of the way, I think I even did the trip once or twice with her sleeping the entire time.  As a toddler though she does need to stretch her legs at least once.  Baby Good is not so keen on being in the car and cries quite a lot which can get a bit stressful at times.  Thankfully my Mum came to Melbourne a couple of days before the journey west and she came back with us.  This makes being able to go to the toilet at least a possibility – my bladder isn’t what it used to be!

Anyway, I’m rambling here and haven’t even touched on the subject of my Simple Monday.  When I’m at home in Melbourne I do ALL the cooking (though that’s pretty much my choice), most of the shopping and decide what we’re all going to eat everyday.  I love cooking, but having to make every food decision for the entire family everyday can get a little wearisome.  So on this Simple Monday I’m enjoying someone else’s cooking – namely my Mum’s.  Is there anything better than a meal cooked by Mum (well I guess it helps when your Mum is a great cook)?  I don’t have to decide what to have, figure out what is needed from the supermarket, green grocer or butcher, or when I need to get started on it.  All I do is ask ‘What’s for dinner, Mum?’ just like a typical teenager.

I think it’s only when you find yourself being the one asked constantly ‘What’s for dinner, Mum?’ do you really appreciate someone else cooking you a meal.  Nothing spectacular, just good, tasty home cooking.  Thanks Mum!

This entry was posted in cooking, Simple Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Monday – What’s for dinner?

  1. L says:

    In some ways I find it a luxury, doing all the cooking. I love the fact that you cook what you feel like, rather than being surprised by fried rice when you really felt like roast pork.
    Maybe I’m just a control freak 🙂

  2. Bruisemouse says:

    Every now and then it is great to have someone else make the grownup decisions, such as ‘What’s for dinner?’ Some nights I would happily sit down to Vegemite on toast as long as someone else had made the decision and put it in front of me. Especially with little ones, we all just need a break from making every decision of the day.

  3. Barbara Good says:

    L I would usually agree with you, I love cooking, Mr Good is not so good in the kitchen – great at the BBQ though – and cooking what I feel like is certainly an added benefit, but sometimes I just don’t want to think about it all and having someone else make the decisions and do the work is just what I need every now and again.

    Bruisemouse – vegemite on toast sounds good to me too!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I remember ringing my mum from work during the day in my late teens, early twenties , asking her what was for dinner that night when I still lived at home……………..I think back on that now and realise how bad/sad that really was…………..lol…
    ( oh but my joy if mum said it was snitzel night…yay….!!!!!!) I think I ran to my car that night after work to get home super quick!

Leave a Reply

