Devastating Winds

Perhaps devastating is a slight exaggeration, it’s not like we had trees down or a collapsed roof or anything, but I’m not sure I would have been any more upset by those events than the ones I encountered this morning.  Melbourne has been experiencing some pretty strong, gusty winds today, the hot dry type, a precursor of things to come perhaps.  Thankfully we are expecting rain this afternoon or tonight so it should be short-lived.

Unfortunately the destruction has already been done in my backyard.  I think a really truly committed blogger would have taken the camera out upon noticing the damage, I didn’t even think to do that.  What I did discover as I went out the hang the washing out this morning was this:

1) My seed trays had been caught by the wind, blown off the table and landed upside down in the garden behind it.  There wasn’t too much in there – hence it was light enough to be blown over – but I had finally managed to get a few decent looking capsicum and eggplant seedlings going in there after a second attempt at sowing the seeds.  I did manage to salvage the tiny plants and replant them, bringing the tray inside out of the wind, but I think the likelihood of them surviving the trauma is small.  I will try again with more seeds tomorrow when the wind has passed.

2) The two tomato seedlings I had potted up into larger containers had also been knocked off the table.  One appeared fine, the other had come out of the pot altogether and was lying next to it on the concrete.  Thankfully these had been planted initially in toilet rolls with the whole thing (roll and all) being planted into the larger pot and so the plant was still somewhat safe inside that.  I also replanted him, gave them both a thorough water and put them in a sheltered spot.

3) My beautiful fuschia was lying on it’s side (in it’s pot) and seemed as though it had been rolled around on the pavers by the wind.  Once I picked it up it appeared unperturbed by the whole event – having been given similar treatment by Miss Two a few weeks ago – so I think it will survive and I did notice a few aphids on the tips so I guess that’s a good thing (that I noticed them, not that they are there).  I’ll get onto them with some eco oil, I also have aphids on the apple trees.  Does anyone have a tried and tested solution to these little critters?

4) The snow peas, which have yet again out grown their frame, were hanging over with their stems bent and possibly broken.  I had the frame attached to the fence, but the plants are now significantly higher than the fence so I’m not sure what I can construct for them to continue their upward journey.  Now I might not have to worry about that at all, as the upper parts of the plants may die off above where the stalks folded over.  Of course that’s where all the flowers are so it may be small crop of snow peas for us this year.  I tried to straighten them out and tie them more securely to the frame where I could, but I think it might be a case of closing the gate after the horse has bolted with this one.

Since taking up vegetable gardening in a more serious way, I’ve found I can become quite obsessed and anxious about what’s happening out there.  At night I lay in bed worrying about whether the bugs are going to march off with any more of my bean seedlings (so far the answer has be YES! but I think I’ve worked out that it’s earwigs – solution, yet to be resolved).  When we have a couple of hot days in a row I’m out each evening inspecting the condition of the plants.  If I go away and leave Mr Good with the responsibility of looking after it all, I’m constantly sending him text messages to remind him of this or that and then to check that he’s done it.  But the wind, that’s what I hate the most.  It’s completely out of my control, there is little I can do to protect the garden, it’s drying and as I found out today can wreck havoc in minutes.  All this worry over a little backyard vegie patch, it’s a good thing I’m not a farmer!

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Devastating Winds

  1. Andrea says:

    Oh how dissapointing after all your hard work!! and that rain your expecting has just arrived up here and its not too good, very heavy and i’m now in your position wondering what damage will greet me in the morning.

  2. Liz says:

    It is horrible when things go wrong but don’t despair you’ll probably both get used to it (or normalise it like all other risk and anxieties…) and you’ll also learn to recognise what is fatal damage and what can be fixed easily. For instance if your seedlings have good root systems attatched they’ll probably be absolutely fine, it sounds like the tomatoes and the fuschia will be OK as well and time will tell with the snow peas….. Aphids – I have found two things work well. Blast them off the plant with water – put your hose on its most jet like setting and then blast the aphids – they will just fall off the plant – be a bit careful you don’t harm the plant in the process. The other (organic) thing that does work is Pyrethrum but this will also kill beneficial insects like ladybirds (which eat aphids). Oh and I don’t like wind either.

  3. Barbara Good says:

    Andrea, sadly your predicted damaging rain arrived, now my three little cucumbers have succumbed to the elements.

    Liz, I’m sure you’re right about getting used to it. Right now though it feels like everything I’ve done has come to not very much at all. In the past I’ve usually planted seedlings and it seems I have much more success at keeping them alive ling enough to bare fruit at least. The winter vegies grown from seed did so well, I was quite impressed with myself. Looks like I’ve been brought back down to earth with my spring planting attempts. Nevertheless I will soldier on and re-stock the seed trays and replant the seeds in the garden. I also just went out and got some Pyrethrum as the earwigs are out of control in one area. Will try that on the aphids too as I have no water pressure in the garden as we only use tank water with no pump.

Leave a Reply

