Another way with broad beans

As this has been my most successful crop of anything (ever!) I have had to do a bit of hunting to expand my recipe repertoire when it comes to cooking with broad beans.  I’m estimating I’ve picked at least 5 kilos of the beans, with one last harvest to happen when I cull the plants this weekend, ready to plant out the lettuces.  It also seems I am, for some reason, ahead of the pack when it comes to picking broad beans so I thought sharing some of my more favoured recipes might be useful to others.

I found this wonderful broad bean salad recipe in Kylie Kwong’s ‘It Tastes Better’ book.  We had it a couple of nights ago with a piece of grilled, crispy-skinned salmon (cooked on the BBQ) and some minted potato salad.  It was one of the lovely warm evenings we’ve been enjoying so we ate this summery meal alfresco.  Sadly I’ve commandeered the outdoor table at a potting bench in lieu of the one Mr Good has been promising to build me, so we crowded around Miss Two’s tiny little craft table.  It must have looked quite odd, but was a delightful meal shared with the family nonetheless.

Broad Bean Salad with Goat’s Cheese and Fresh Herbs

600g Broad Beans, removed from pod
100ml extra virgin olive oil
2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
pinch of salt flakes
1/2 bunch dill, leaves picked and chopped
1/2 bunch mint, leaves picked and chopped
juice of 1 lemon
85g marinated goat’s cheese
freshly ground black pepper

Bring a pan of water to the boil.  Blanch broad beans for 1 minutes, then refresh under cold running water.  Drain and slip the bright-green beans out of their greyish skins

Heat a frying pan, add oil, garlic and salt, and fry gently for 1 minute.  Add reserved broad beans and cook for 2 minutes.  Transfer broad beans to a bowl and allow to cool.

Add herbs and lemon juice to broad beans and mix well.  Arrange on a serving platter, then top with goat’s cheese and an extra drizzle of oil.  Season with salt and pepper and serve.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another way with broad beans

  1. Andrea says:

    My broad beans are now ready to pick so i’m going to try out this recipe , the addition of goats cheese sounds great! A look over your fence at tea-time sounds like fun. Luckily no damage to my garden from rain.
    Plenty of sunflower seeds to share, andrea.nealy@hotmail.com Have a great weekend!!

    • Barbara Good says:

      The goat’s cheese really made this dish Andrea. I had Meredith Dairy marinated goat’s cheese which is just so delicious. And as for the neighbours, on one side our neighbours build an extension so close to our fence I can basically touch their house – they don’t have to peak over the fence, they can just look out their window. No topless sunbaking around here that’s for sure.
      I’ve just sent you an email about the sunflower seeds. Hope your weekend is great too.

  2. Phoebe says:

    Oh great recipe! And sounds like a delicious dinner too!
    My broadies are covered in rust now, and I haven’t had the best from them yet which is a shame…

  3. Barbara Good says:

    Phoebe, mine had rust problems in the end too. Thankfully I had already picked loads of them by the time it really took hold. Actually I think I would have had more broad beans than I could cope with had they been the beautiful healthy specimens they were at the beginning so it was probably a good thing. That and it meant I didn’t feel guilty getting rid of them this afternoon to make room for the next crop.

  4. Pingback: Winter Crop Verdict 1# | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

