Celebrating a Century

That’s right, I’ve made it to 100 posts.  Considering I thought I could only manage one or two posts a week when I first started this blog, getting to 100 seemed a long way off.  As it turns out I have more to say than I ever thought and tend to post at least four times a week.   My blog has transformed itself quite miraculously from one that was focused on cooking, reading, a little gardening and anything retro, to one that is primarily about my garden exploits and cooking with the harvest.  I managed very little on the reading front and besides the fact that many of the vegies growing in my garden are a little retro (or so last century as my husband pointed out), the whole retro theme seems to have fallen by the wayside a little.  Perhaps I will try to pick these things up a bit more in the next 100 posts.  I also didn’t intend to write so much about my girls, but it’s hard to set them apart from my other activities when they’re with my day and night and so much of what I do is either with them or for them.  However, my main goal was to simplify my life, appreciate the small things and live positively.  I think, I hope, I’ve been able to fulfill these elements.

There must be something going on in the blogoshere though, as I’ve had three incredibly kind and generous encounters with fellow bloggers in the last week.  Firstly Liz from the Suburban Tomato gifted me three cherry tomato seedlings that she had grown.  Then a few days later I received an email from S at  telling me I had won a copy of The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory (a personal favourite author if mine) from her recent giveaway.  And finally today, I cam home from a little shopping with the girls to find this in my letter box.

A wonderful collection of seeds generously donated by Andrea at Harvest with Glee.  She had offered to send me some sunflower seeds she had collected after reading my post about adding colour and flowers to the garden.  As well as two different types of sunflowers, there was some pumpkin seeds, carrot seeds from an 80 year old gardener and a selection of others together with a letter telling me about them.  What a wonderful surprise to find in my mail box – thank you Andrea!  I will keep you posted on how they do.

I have been constantly amazed and delighted at how supportive, encouraging and generous the blogging world is – at least the circles I move in anyway.

This entry was posted in Blogs, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Celebrating a Century

  1. Andrea says:

    Hope little Miss Good enjoys helping you plant the sunflower seeds and watching them grow !! most impressed with your zucchini seedlings too.

  2. Liz says:

    Congratulations on the 100! I just went back and looked at mine and have now realised I passed 100 and forgot to notice – no wonder I never remember birthdays….my daughter has planted sunflower seeds too, they are all of 10cm tall and i’m not sure which one of us is more excited her or me….

  3. Mrs Bok says:

    Hooray! Congrats on your 100th post! It was lovely to meet you and your beautiful family today. Please email me your address as I want to send you something little as thanks for coming today.

  4. Pingback: Between the rain clouds | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

