Saturdays with Baby Good

The family and I have fallen into something of a routine on Saturday mornings, one which I thoroughly enjoy for so many reasons. It starts in the perfect way, a sleep in for me.  Not one of those really late, luxurious, wasting-half-the-day kind of sleep ins you have when you’re young and carefree, but just not the crack of dawn when I’m usually struggling out of bed and trying to rid my brain of the fuzziness sleep induces.  Mr Good is up early with Miss Two watching cartoons, drawing or playing with the duplo.  He then gets her organised and takes her for a swimming lesson and to the toy library.

This leaves the house so peaceful for Baby Good and I to enjoy a leisurely breakfast – one which I don’t have to share! – and then we’re off for a walk.  I miss being able to just pack the pram and take off for a stroll during the week, Miss Two is so determined to walk by herself but gets sick of it half way to wherever we’re going and then it’s a battle the rest of the way.  Usually we head to the local shops for something or another.  I’ve slowly started to fall in love with the quirky, eclectic little shops around us, certainly not trendy but with loads of personality.  And I figure if I want nice local shops I’ve got to start supporting them over the larger centres.  My favourite at the moment is a little shoe repair shop which reminds me so much – especially the smell – of a shoe shop from my grandparents’ tiny little country town.  Sadly that one closed down years ago.   This one is a long, narrow and very dark shop, selling ‘comfortable’ footware, an odd collection of handbags, slippers, support socks/stockings and offering shoe and watch repairs.  It’s one of those ‘bit of this and bit of that’ sort of shops that you find in the country, and this is probably why I love it so much.  Plus they do a great job repairing the shoes that I can’t bare to part with just yet. This little gem is also conveniently located right next door to a great bakery/pie shop so I can pick up some lunch at the same time.

I try to time these morning walks for when Baby Good would naturally be having a sleep, otherwise I end up stuck at home all day waiting for her to wake up.  She has a short nap in the pram and then spends the rest of the time looking around curiously and charming everyone she meets.  I’ve also taken to wandering back past a few op shops (though frustratingly one is so tightly packed I can’t get in there with the pram).  I’ve only just taken to op shopping and have no idea why it’s taken me so long.  What a little treasure trove these places can be.  I have a quick perusal of the kids clothes looking for the lovely hand made clothes you can sometimes find and the children’s books keeping an eye out for any classics and then head for the kitchenware – my true weakness.  I’m a sucker for bowls and serving dishes, but I try to reign myself in as much as possible.  I do have a bit of a wish list though, including any kind of coloured glass (jugs, vases, glasses etc), a small glass bowl with little legs if possible and a teapot.

Once the shops have been thoroughly examined the two of us enjoy the slow stroll home in the sunshine  before lunch and to hear the latest adventures of the pool and or all about the current obsession from the toy library – this week a little red ride-on car for outside, pity about all the rain!  All too soon Baby Good will be joining the swimming lessons and then our special time together will be over, but for now I look forward to it every week.

This entry was posted in Kids, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturdays with Baby Good

  1. Phoebe says:

    Oh that sounds so lovely! Baby good is the most adorable thing in the world!
    How great are op shops?! I recently found a HUGE blue glass vase for $5! Such a bargain! I too have a kitchenware weakness!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Phoebe, I’d say I agree with you about Baby Good, but I might be a tad biased. She has been such a fabulously easy and adaptable baby though. Love the sound of the blue glass vase – how great is coloured glass! Though I’m on the look out for small vases, I have several big ones and never have flowers with long enough stems. I’ll have to get Mr Good to start buying me long stemmed roses more often…

  2. Andrea says:

    A very special time for you and bub and also for hubby and Miss 2, what a wonderful dad!
    I love the sound of your local shops much more enjoyable than the big impersonal shopping centers and Op shops are great fun to poke around in you never know what jems you may find!!
    sounds like the perfect Saturday morning, coffee too?

    • Barbara Good says:

      It is a lovely special time for all of us. Mr Good and Miss Two have a beautiful relationship with each other, very affectionate. But more importantly, he’s a good swimmer and I’m more of a near drowner than a swimmer.
      Actually I thought of your blog post the other day when that smell triggered my memories, so powerful. And I’m loving exploring the shops, there’s a few more I’ve been eyeing off but are out of my walking with the pram distance. The only thing missing is a nice coffee shop or cafe unless I want to sit outside one (of the three) local tobacco shops. I’m sure one will eventuate soon though.

  3. Liz says:

    Its interesting – in the UK the demise of the High Street (ie local shops) was a huge issue – there were some suburbs without a bakery, butcher or greengrocer in their high street. i don’t know what the other suburbs of Melbourne are like but that certainly isn’t an issue around here. In fact I think there is something of a revival of local shopping around this area – perhaps people are becoming aware how valuable it is to have local shops and are actively supporting them. I certainly hope so because it was pretty awful not being able to go to a green grocer or a butcher or a baker to buy food.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Liz, we’re not short of a local butcher, greengrocer or bakery either. Better yet we have a fabulous little continental supermarket – you should see their range of dried pasta. Beats Coles or Woolies for variety or shapes and sizes.

  4. L says:

    Your hubby sounds like a keeper 🙂
    I love it when a smell triggers childhood memories- it’s amazing how vivid they can be.

    • Barbara Good says:

      L most days I agree with you about my husband….. occasionally it feels like I have three children instead of just two.
      And smells are closely linked to our memories, they conjure things up without you ever realising the smell was associated with them in the first place I find.

  5. Hazel says:

    Hi Barb, I love this piece… it conjures up a real sense of place. I am so glad shopping strips are making a come-back. When I visit my son in Indianapolis all the shopping is in malls or in those off the road, concrete warehouse things (we have them too on the outskirts). My daughter-in-law loves Melbourne because of the strip shops. It is great to hear that you are taking time to enjoy Baby Good…the time goes so fast.

Leave a Reply

