First of the Christmas Cooking

Most years I try to do a bit of preserving and baking in preparation for the festive season.  A little collection of home made foodstuffs presented in nice jars collected over the year or on nice plates (that this year I will find at the op shop) make such a lovely gift I think.  I love getting these kinds of things from friends and family, and equally I love to give them.  They also make for a budget friendly gift and one that you can quickly whip together from ones in the store cupboard for those times when you unexpectedly need a present.

Soon it will be time to make up the mince pies (having made the mince a while ago), but until then I have been marmalade making.  I had been buying oranges when Aussie Farmers were promoting them to support Australian citrus growers, but had struggled to find the time to get the marmalade made.  Thankfully a recent visit from my Mum meant that between the two of us we managed to get it done.

I used the  The Presbyterian Missionary Women’s Union Cookbook recipe which Hazel posted on her blog some time ago.  I ended up with 8 jars (of all shapes and sizes) of beautiful bright orange marmalade that tastes wonderful – of course I had to do a jar or two for me.  Hazel suggested having it on toast with mascarpone which sounds divine and something I will have to try myself.

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First of the Christmas Cooking

  1. Liz says:

    Yum – I love the curvy jar!

  2. Barbara Good says:

    Isn’t that jar just too cute, can’t remember what came in it originally but I bet it was something yummy.

  3. andrea says:

    I love marmalade /toast and cup tea for breaky (anytime really) yours looks great with the sun shinning through the jars, lovely color.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks Andrea, I too thought the sun coming through the jars made for a vibrant picture. Toast with marmalade (or fig jam or lemon butter) and a cup of tea is my breakfast too. Sadly I have to share it though.

  4. L says:

    That looks so wonderfully vibrant! I’ve never tried making any jams before, but I’ve bought myself a packet of jamsetta and I plan to give it a go sometime.

  5. Barbara Good says:

    L I only made it for the first time at the start of this year. My neighbours Fig tree which hangs over our fence, had gone wild with fruit and I could bare to watch it all drop and rot on the ground – they don’t like figs apparently. So I picked all the fruit I could reach and then they offered me the rest – it was A LOT of figs. I made a savoury jam to go with cheese and a sweet jam for toast etc. I didn’t use jamsetta, I think you only need it if the pectin content of the fruit is low. It was actually very easy, a bit time consuming but so worth it. The jar sterilsing thing worried me at first, but I haven’t had any trouble with that so far. Good luck, what kind of jam are you going to make?

Leave a Reply

