Christmas in the Garden

My one goal for growing tomatoes each year, other than a bumper harvest with enough tommies for summer salads plus some pickles or sauce of course, is to be picking ripe, juicy tomatoes by Christmas Day.  Look what I found yesterday…

 

 

Not the best photo as the perfect little gems are sadly out of focus, but you can see what I’m talking about.  Of course I would have been able to take a better photo had I not picked them and shared them with Miss Two immediately after clicking the camera.  Oh well, I’m sure there will be plenty more to photograph, but at least I can say that I met my goal and picked the first cherry tomatoes before Christmas.  And let me tell you, they were sweet, sweet, sweet.  Can’t wait for the next ones to ripen.

Hope your garden is spreading a little Christmas joy at your place too.  My garden is really sharing the spirit of the season by donating my first ripe strawberry to some visiting creature!

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas in the Garden

  1. Andrea says:

    Congrats!!! ripe tomatoes before Xmas lucky you !! hope you have a bumper crop too. How are your potatoes going? my garden has produced some Xmas cheer, plenty of potatoes for Xmas day!! I will serve them steamed with butter and chopped parsley.
    Love the wrapping paper, i think the handmade touch is beautiful, just what Xmas is about!!

  2. Barbara Good says:

    Thanks Andrea, and your potatoes sound wonderful. Mine look fantastic, but not ready yet. I think I planted them later than most. Am I right in thinking that you wait for them to die down before digging them up? I’ll photograph them for a post after Christmas.

    I agree too that a bit of home made makes Christmas much more special. Hope you have a lovely day.

  3. Andrea says:

    Our temperature is a little hotter and dryer so potatoes may have flowered and started to die off a bit earlier. Leaves just look a bit weathered but when i dug out some there were plenty more small ones still coming along.

Leave a Reply

