Some Recipes

After my last post I had a request for the Caesar Salad dressing recipe as well as what I called my lamb and feta pasta bake, so here you go.

Caesar Salad Dressing – I’ve made a guess at the measurements, I usually just guess
1 tbsp cream
1tbsp  whole egg mayonnaise
Juice of a lemon
2tsp Dijon mustard
1-2 anchovy fillets
1 clove garlic, crushed

I just plonk it all into the mini food processor and give it a whizz, then taste and adjust.

I know it’s cheating using store bought mayonnaise, but I’ve never mastered the art of making my own and now I just don’t have the energy or time to make something that will potentially not work.

And now to the pasta recipe:

Youvetsi (Lamb & Tomato with Rice-shaped Noodles)
3 tbsp olive oil
800g lamb meat (from shoulder or leg), trimmed and cut into 3cm pieces
2 red onions, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
600g tinned tomatoes, with juice, chopped
1 piece of cassia bark or cinnamon
30g butter
400g risoni or orzo
Feta or haloumi (optional, but definitely worth it)
Grated parmesan, perorino or kefalotiri cheese, to serve

Preheat oven to 180C.  Heat the olive oil in a heavy casserole dish (one that can go on the stove top and in the oven preferably) and fry the lamb in batches until golden on all sides.  Transfer the meat to a plate and add the onions to the casserole dish.  Saute the onions until golden and softened, stirring all the time so they don’t stick (you can add a little extra oil if necessary).  Add the garlic and cook for another half minute or so before returning the meat to the pan.  Add the tomatoes, crushing them with a wooden spoon, season with salt and pepper and add the cassia or cinnamon and the butter.  Let it all bubble up for 5 minutes or so and then add 1 litre of hot water.  Cover and bake in the oven for 1 hour or until lamb is tender.

Rinse the pasta in a fine sieve, drain and add to the casserole.  Mix through, cover and return it to the oven for another 15 minutes, or until the pasta is cooked and has absorbed most of the sauce.  You may need to add a little more hot water if it seems to dry.  Stir in the feta or haloumi  a few minutes before the end of the cooking (or just let it sit with the lid on but out of the oven once you’ve added the cheese).  Serve hot, sprinkled with grated parmesan.

Notes: You can use any pasta if you don’t have risoni, but you might need to adjust the cooking time.  If you prefer, use one big piece of meat on the bone instead or cubes and just break it up into portions for serving.  The meat must be very soft, so cook it as long as it needs before adding the pasta to the casserole for the last 15 minutes.

Recipe from Falling Cloudberries, Tessa Kiros

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some Recipes

  1. Liz says:

    Thanks for the Caesar dressing recipe – I will definitely use it. Now when you say you’ve never mastered the art of mayonaise can I ask have you tried? I thought it would be difficult – I started making my own fairly recently and I’ve never had it fail yet. I just use the mini food processor that came with my stick blender (I’m sure you’ve mentioned having one) and it works everytime….touchwood…..sorry if that sounded like lecturing, sometimes its hard to type a nice breezy enquiring tone…….

  2. Pingback: Tarka Dhal | Suburban Tomato

  3. Barbara Good says:

    Okay Liz, perhaps you can give me a virtual mayonnaise lesson. I tried years ago with just a bowl and a whisk and found I needed an extra arm so I could whisk, pour and hold the bowl all at the same time, so I gave up. My regular food processor is no good with such a small amount, so when I got the mini one with the stick blender it was about the first thing I tried. However, there is no hole in the lid to pour in the oil. I found I had to add a tiny bit, put the lid back on, whizz and then repeat countless times. It was annoying, slow and in the end didn’t work. The stuff didn’t thicken at all and the oil wasn’t really amalgamated at all. So what’s your secret?

Leave a Reply

