Funny Things Two Year Olds Say

This will be the last of these posts as Miss Two is turning three on Sunday, but there were a few priceless statements that I thought worthy of a final post in the series (at least until Baby Good turns two).

1. “Silly Mummy, you left the damn scissors on the damn coffee table”  – Oops, I guess it could be worse, but I must remember to watch my language in front of small children.  I should also mention that each of those ‘damns’ was emphasised with a fist hitting the kitchen bench.

2. Another of her own versions of nursery rhymes
“Baby Mary, quite contrary, how does you garden grow?  With silver bells and cockleshells and banana skins in a row.”  She sings “Baby Mary” when she’s singing it to Baby Good, it’s very cute.

3. And the very last funny thing.
Me: What would you like for your birthday Miss Two?
Miss Two: A birthday card, please Mum.
I could have saved myself a lot of time and effort, not to mention money had I asked this one a little earlier.  I wonder what her answer will be when I asked that same question next year.

So as we say goodbye to the twos, for now, I am pleased to say we have come through  relatively unscathed – except for mealtimes.  We don’t often have tantrums when she doesn’t get her own way, she is pretty good a sharing and is lovely to her sister.  She is still a bit sensitive and her coping skills when dealing with the tribulations of playgroup and childcare aren’t always great – some sessions involve many, many tears.  I have learnt the hard way that not feeding this particular toddler regularly during the day – a tough ask when she often refuses to eat everything I offer – will inevitably lead to meltdown central.  Despite all this, she puts a smile on my face everyday at least once, even if that is when I check on her before I go to bed and see her sleeping peacefully.  I will miss her being this little, but I’m looking forward to seeing how much she changes and grows in every way as a three year old.

  

 

This entry was posted in Funny Things Two Year Olds Say. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funny Things Two Year Olds Say

  1. Jessica Pearson says:

    That’s gorgeous! Can’t wait to celebrate her birthday on Sunday x

  2. Liz says:

    2 is a fun age it has to be said, but then so is 3. There is absolutely no danger of her being satisfied with a card for her 4th birthday, well not if she’s anything like mine…

  3. She’s adorable 🙂 I was watching some video of J when she was 2 today, and I just love listening to their cute chatter. I agree with Liz about the 4th birthday- I get lists presented to me daily, and she’s not even 5 until late November!

  4. Oh yes, I’m trying to watch my language in front of the kids too. A couple of years ago Littlest Monkey informed me in a very earnest voice that the big car in the car park taking up two spaces must be an ******* idiot!
    I nearly bit my tongue off in horror.
    Worse than a damn but not accompanied by a fist bang.

Leave a Reply

