Monday Harvest – June 4, 2012

Another limited wintry harvest from me this week.

 

1. More silverbeet, it’s such a reliable source of greens from the garden and even though I did a big clean up during the week and pulled up lots of the rambling plants I still have an ever-ready supply.  This lot went into a delicious side dish of blanched silverbeet with a warm dressing (found here) of honey, balsamic vinegar, garlic and olive oil (it was supposed to have blue berries or other berries but I left these out) topped with toasted pine nuts and crumbled goat’s cheese.  This dressing was designed for a salad, but I prefer silverbeet cooked.  It worked wonderfully and made Mr Good much happier about eating silverbeet yet again!

2. I picked the first of my turnips this week to go into my beef and vegetable casserole cooked in the slow cooker.  The turnip is such a daggy vegetable – is there any vegetable daggier? – but it germinates easily, grows quickly and is a good addition to stews and soups.  And as I’m yet to really have much success with other root vegetables, turnips are a satisfying addition to my garden.

3. Herbs, herbs, herbs as always.  Parsley to finish off lots of dishes, a big bunch of mint for Liz’s Vietnamese chicken coleslaw which we enjoyed for dinner over the weekend and thyme and bay leaves for the casserole.

4. Pak Choy self sown from the ones I planted in Spring last year (in all sorts of weird places) perfect for any sort of stir fry and I noticed Andrea had added it to her soup, great idea!

Check out other’s harvest from the last week at Daphne’s, I love seeing the pickings from the other side of the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Harvest – June 4, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    I love the sound of that dressing for the silver beet – yum.

  2. Andrea says:

    Silverbeet growing strong at our place too………..Your dressing sounds great along with the nuts and goats cheese. Thanks for dropping by my blog i know how busy you must be, a bit of a juggling act , mum/work/wife/cook/ etc…………….

  3. kitsapfg says:

    Your treatment of the chard (silverbeet) sounds delicious! I do kale in a similar fashion and I bet this is even better. Must give that a whirl.

  4. methowmama says:

    Thanks for referencing my caramelized balsamic dressing here ~ I’ve done the same with kale, chard and beat greens. All work out great with all raw, although I suppose a warm dish works too–as you point out! Thanks again, Georgina @ http://caramelizelife.com/

  5. Julie says:

    Silverbeets are so versatile and delicious- the dressing sounds very yummy. Nice turnips too. I was never a fan of turnips until I started growing them and learned how many ways they can be cooked.

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Like your treatment of silverbeet, that sound like a very versatile dressing.

  7. Daphne says:

    That sounds delicious. I love Swiss chard. I’ll probably start eating my one next week as my spinach will be gone by then.

  8. Pingback: Monday Harvest, 6 August, 2012 | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

