Harvest Monday – 18 June, 2012

We’ve been experiencing some very changeable winter weather here in Melbourne.  True most days have been quite cold (as our winter’s go that is), but some days have been lovely and sunny, others have been cloudy and drizzly all day and yet others have started out cold and foggy only to clear to wonderful winter sunshine.  Mr Good and I took the girls into the city on the Queen’s birthday holiday with the intention of going to the aquarium because it was a fairly miserable day.  But by the time we came out the other side of the city loop (an underground section of the train line) it was like another day altogether with glorious sunshine and clear, blue skies.  We ditched the aquarium and headed for the zoo instead.  Miss Three and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon in the garden last week.  I had great intentions of getting on top of the weeding, but Miss Three convinced me that planting seeds was a better idea and who was I to argue with that!  So we planted out the last lot of onion seedlings and put in lots of new seeds, some probably too late in the season but a bit of an experiment to see if we can fill the gaps in our harvesting in a couple of months.  I was particularly inspired to do this given the repetitive nature of our current weekly harvest.  So hopefully in the not too distant future we will have some variety in the basket.

But until then, it will be pretty much the same as previous weeks:

1. Silverbeet, this time for a curry as well as a few side dishes and to sneak into casseroles and so on.  Is silverbeet a super-food? If so we are going to be super human really soon, either that or we’ll all turn green.

2. Pak Choy for the Chinese chicken hot pot.  I’ve been really loving this vegetable, so we planted more seeds as well as some other Asian greens.

3. Turnips for a vegetable soup with barley yet to be made.  Hopefully I’ll get around to baking some more bread rolls to serve with this soup.

4. Parsley, thyme and mint – the first two went into a chicken and leek pie filling that I made and froze for later in the week.  More thyme went on the roasted pumpkin for a pizza topping. And the mint was for some minted peas.

That’s it for this week, same as last week but a few different uses.  I’ll soon have some peas to add to the harvest as well as some carrots and parsnips and hopefully some celery as well.  The cabbages are coming along nicely and the broccoli have all started to develop the main head.  So while the basket is pretty boring at the moment, there is at least some potential growing in the garden.

For more harvests have a look here.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Harvest Monday – 18 June, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    Nice photo. I’ve never grown turnips…perhaps I should…I kind of don’;t see the point of them but perhaps I’m being uneccessarily critical of a perfectly respectable vegetable.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Actually if it wasn’t for the fact that I can actually grow them without even thinking about them I probably wouldn’t grow them either. That and the fact that I don’t have heaps in my winter garden. I just add them to casseroles or soups, but I think they’re the least interesting of the root vegetables. I though perhaps I should try swede, I think they’re tastier according to what I’ve read. Having said that I’ve always found a use for turnips and they are so so easy and fast to grow.

  2. kitsapfg says:

    Swiss Chard and it’s relatives beets and spinach are definitely in the super foods group… and swiss chard in particular is in the super producer category too. It is a heavy producer for the amount of square footage of garden area it uses. One of the real work horses or the garden. During the summer season when everything else is producing we tend to tire of it and have to enforce regular harvests, but come fall through early spring it is back being much appreciated.

  3. Barbie says:

    I think it is a wonderful food, and considering the way it does produce – it’s super! 😉

  4. maryhysong says:

    Yes chard is pretty super all the way around. In fact now that the softer winter weeds are drying up I’m planting more of it to feed to the chickens. There are times when I get tired of eating it tho.

  5. Great photos! I know what you mean about the repetition. When I went to do my harvest Monday I realized it was pretty much the same as the last one.

  6. Andrea says:

    Well i would have to agree with Chard being a super-food,it is so hardy!! twice last week i went out to the patch to pick some (i like to cook early in the morning, sometimes 4am, no i don’t think I’m crazy) and the leaves were frozen, i just put them in a little water and they were fine.

  7. Rick says:

    Beautiful harvest, we are starting to miss our greens around here. The weather has been super hot for weeks now so we have lost all our cool weather crops to bolting. We are now just waiting on the summer crops to get ready for us to eat!!

  8. Norma Chang says:

    Know what you mean by repetitive nature of weekly harvest but we cannot rush the plants nor change the seasons.

  9. I am a new (and very big) fan of swiss chard! I hear you about the repetitive nature of what’s available during certain seasons but I still just think it’s amazing that veggies can come out of the garden any time of the year! Great harvests!

Leave a Reply

