Tuesday’s Top Five – Reasons to go vego

If I were to announce to my family that we were going vegetarian – something I could actually do seeings as I do all the cooking and the shopping – you would hear cries of dismay across the country.  My meat-loving husband and chop chewing daughters would be mortified.  For me the idea has a certain appeal and, though I do enjoy meat, I think I could quite happily live without it.  I’m not going to force my vegetarian desires on to the rest of my small tribe, but I have been shifting the balance between meat and veg in a very distinct way, more veg less meat.  There are many reasons why I think this is the way to go….

 

1. Because I grow the stuff!
I have found that growing vegetables without any thought to how they are going to be used on the plate can lead to quite a bit of waste.  I forget I have certain things growing, or neglect to pick them at the optimal time, or worse still I grow things that I don’t really want to cook with just because I had room in the garden or they were supposed to be easy to grow.  I’m all for a bit of experimenting with growing new things, but if I go down this path the approach as to be two-pronged, experimenting in the garden should lead clearly to experimenting in the kitchen.  I have found that if I put the veg centre-stage on the plate I get better use out of it in the garden.  This has clearly been shown with the silver beet which I have found more and more uses for and often as the star ingredient instead of a piece of meat.  So more and more frequently I find myself side-stepping the meat and three veg meal in favour of a veg and three veg meal, or at least a predominantly veg meal, with my home grown stuff on show.  It is so much more satisfying seeing your efforts in the garden making up the bulk of the meal.

2. Vegetables are cheap(er)
I pretty hopeless at sticking to a grocery budget, though I’ve had to get a bit better at it while we’ve been down to one income.  My natural tendency is to buy the product that makes me comfortable from an environmental and ethical standpoint than to buy the cheapest product on the market.  I do this as much as I can and by limiting meat and replacing it to some extent with vegetables means that my ethical and environmental dollars can stretch a bit further.

3. I can buy ‘better’ meat if I limit the amount we eat each week.
My mother’s family have been beef cattle producers, agents and auctioneers for four generations, I would be shunned if I suddenly announced at the family steak off that I was a vegetarian.  But I do want to buy ‘better’ meat.  This especially goes for chicken and pork which are generally terribly treated animals by the major meat producers.  It also makes sense that animals that are treated poorly, fed all sorts of supplements and non-natural diets and given no quality of life are going to make for inferior meat both in taste and in nutritional value.  By limiting meat consumption I can spend a bit more and buy ethically raised meat, fed from a natural diet and slaughtered at a more appropriate age.

4. A vegetarian diet is better for the planet.
While I may have some difficulty convincing some of my family of this fact, it has been well documented that a vegetarian diet has far less of a negative impact on the environment.  In green terms there is much more good to be done by cutting out meat than there is by cutting out food miles, though I think both certainly have a role to play in becoming a more sustainable society.  This one goes especially for red meat.

 

5. Veggies are just plain good for you!
Miss Three may disagree with me and Mr Good may choose to ignore this fact, but it is so, eating plants is good for our health and good for our bodies.  We humans may have been designed to eat meat (as my mother regularly reminds me), but we were perhaps not meat to eat it in such great proportions or such great frequency.  There are plenty of good things in meat, but we don’t need the quantities that are often found in our modern western diet.  Perhaps meat it more suited to a position on the side of the plate or only found on the family meal planner every couple of days instead of several times a day.  Adding just a small amount of meat to a mostly vegetable stirfry seems more sensible than doing it the other way around.  Or maybe some ham or bacon in a pasta, soup or quiche.  A roast dinner should be more about the gorgeous pumpkin, carrots, potatoes and parsnips with a side serve of chicken, beef, pork or lamb.  There are so many great ways to stretch the rest of that roast out over a few meals, all bulked up with plenty of veggies, pulses and grains.

There is also one final reason I’m drawn to a vegetarian diet (which is completely cheating as that would be six, I hope you can overlook that) and that is the cooking side of things.  I’m not really into handling raw meat, especially chicken for some reason, and as I’m not so familiar with vegetarian cooking I am enjoying learning some new things.  It’s great to experiment with different combinations or adjust recipes to suit what’s in the garden or at the farmer’s market.

So there are my reasons for bucking the family trend and heading to the veggies.  Are there any other arguments I can add to my arsenal when facing a family of disgruntled meat eaters?

Check out Liz’s top five here.

This entry was posted in cooking, Tuesday's Top Five and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday’s Top Five – Reasons to go vego

  1. Pingback: Top 5 – Reasons to garden in winter | Suburban Tomato

  2. I so agree with you. I experimented with turning my family into vegetarians at one point. After several months my boys staged a major revolt. My compromise was to buy less meat, but better quality meat and make it the minor player in their meals. AT the time I couldn’t afford to buy half an animal and organic and ethically raised meat was not easily available, so I instead purchased bison from a local farmer in smaller quantities I could afford. My boys loved it and still prefer it to other red meat.

    I also enlisted the help and suggestions on what to raise in our garden ensuring they would eat more of our home grown foods. It worked well for years, now as adults they are careful to watch where the food comes from they feed their children and incorporate gardens as well. I still have my own garden which the grandchildren help to water and keep and eye on with me, they love snacking from the gardens too.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Well now that really is the inspiration I need to keep going down this sustainable living path. I’d love to think that my kids will live like that just because it’s what they know and not have to make a big change in their lives to get their.

  3. Liz says:

    I used to be vegetarian. I became vegetarian at fifteen partially because I listened to too much The Smiths and partially to annoy my mother. She retaliated by making me cook my own dinner. Actually that was probably a good thing for both of us in retrospect but quite annoying at the time. Sadly during my 20s and 30s I slowly added various bits of meat into my life and haven’t had the motivation to remove them again. One day…but then my partner is a committed carnivore and although I’m more than happy foistering my political beliefs on him I do feel guilty if it means he doesn’t enjoy his food.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh those teenage whims, love that your Mum made you cook the food. I agree with you about forcing others to become something they are not… vegetarian. That is precisely why I still cook some meat and probably always will.

  4. slowborg says:

    I went veg for 3 years but just couldn’t keep it up. I never was and certainly am not now a. If meat eater but sometime (like lately) I realise I’m famished all day because for 3 weeks I haven’t had any significant protein.
    I completely agree with you on buying better quality meat and less of it. I tell you what, being as insistent on eating organic and free range as I am on my student budget it really drive home what portioning is, and I really enjoy my meals because they are precious! Expensive! Worth it.
    For me as well (brace yourself I may reveal myself as ‘one of those people’) ingesting the energy of any produce but particularly animal that has had a horrible life is tantamount to self harm in my books. I don’t want to ingest terror, horror, death en masse etc. So I thank my meat for giving its life so that I can be nourished by it, and I lovingly and mindfully prepare it. I will be doing an energy healing course this week and I will learn to bless the meat and not ingest so much trauma. Can’t wait!

  5. Pingback: Tuesday Top Five – Ways with left over roast | The New Good Life

  6. If by “better quality” meat you mean “humanely raised”, that a great thing. But if you mean that you’re only going to buy steaks regardless of where they come from, that’s a bit different…

    Animal welfare is at the top of my list of “issues” and we are fortunate to live in an area where there are many pasture-based farms catering to the relatively well-off people in the area so I’m able to buy exclusively humanely raised meats. (Every once in a while the hubby will cave in to his lust for Oscar Meyer bacon, but that’s become kind of a once-a-year thing). It’s sad that the world has become a place where only relatively well-off people can afford ethically-raised meats. Of course, part of the problem is that people, even “poor” people, eat *way* too much meat.

    In order to help keep the food budget in check, we eat more vegetarian meals than we would if we were just consuming 79-cent a pound chicken…

    • Barbara Good says:

      Rest assured it is the humanely raised local meat I’m buying, I get it from the local farmers market so it’s all produced within a fairly short distance. I haven’t yet managed to get 100% from this source so I also use a home delivery service that only stocks Australian meat (most of which is raised in the south east of the country where I live) and a few bits from the local butcher.

      I know what you mean about only the wealthy being able afford ethical meat, but we’re not on a big budget (only one fairly standard income) it’s buy increasing vegetables and decreasing meat that I’ve been able to buy this sort of meat without adding to the overall cost. I’ll often use bacon or ham as the meat content as I can always get plenty of ethically produced free range and organic ham and bacon, doesn’t take up too much room in the freezer so I can stock up when I see it.

  7. Pingback: Reasons to go vego. | Go Vego

Leave a Reply

