Harvest Monday – Junly 16, 2012

Well I survived my very first day back in the classroom, though I have discovered that some things are quite different from when I left three and a half years ago.  While the role of teacher felt fairly natural, that first class was a bit of a disaster and had me worried about whether I had lost my skills.  It didn’t help that my day started in quite a harried way, being up for three and a half hours overnight with Miss One, sleeping through the alarm and then madly trying to help Mr Good find his wallet, without success.  In the end I left the house half an hour after I had planned leaving me with only a few minutes after I arrived until the day officially started.  Anyway, it’s over now and I feel much better about tomorrow, I’m more organised and I know how things operate a little more – although getting a code for the photocopier will makes things even easier.  I was quite nervous about starting back and so I couldn’t face a weekend wrap post last night, I also didn’t have that much to write about after a fairly boring few days at home.

However, I have been excited about this week’s harvest Monday….. look what I grew!

Is it just me or is that the most gorgeous looking broccoli you’ve ever seen?  Okay I admit I’m possibly a bit biased there and I have seen some other fantastically impressive heads of broccoli on other blogs, but it is certainly the best one I’ve grown EVER! It was 250g, the florets were tightly packed and it tasted wonderful.  I used it in a bacon and broccoli pasta dish with some of the free range bacon I’ve been buying at the farmers market.   And better yet there are lots more coming.

I was also pretty happy with the carrots and one parsnip I picked, though they are a little on the skinny side, the root was quite long and the shape was perfect.  There are several more carrots that will be ready soon, but the parsnips didn’t do so well so there will be quite a wait for the next one.  These I roasted with some pumpkin, a turnip from the garden, and a red capsicum to be used in tomorrow night’s vegetarian dish (stay tuned).

Other than these exciting harvests there has also been lots of parsley and sage used for  stuffing for the roast chicken we had last week and also for the stock I made with the chicken carcass.  Silver beet for some side dishes and mint for the french peas I made to accompany a chicken pie.

A far more satisfying harvest this week and, at least for the next few weeks, that should continue.  For others harvesting great things go here.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Harvest Monday – Junly 16, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    It is beautiful broccoli! Super impressive. As are the carrots which I invariably fail to grow well.

  2. Well done! A good head of broccoli as something to be proud of 🙂 I’m most disappointed that I failed to grow a proper heading variety this year.

  3. Phoebe says:

    That broccoli is FANTASTIC!

  4. Alison says:

    Congrats on the first day back! I can’t believe how functional people can be after such interrupted sleep. I’m sure you’ll hit the ground running tomorrow and love it!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Day two was a bit better, but on even less sleep. Thank god tomorrow is a day at home. I also got a call from our child care centre as Miss Three developed a fever, so in all an interesting start. How are you enjoying your free time?

  5. Frogdancer says:

    Primary or secondary?

  6. kitsapfg says:

    The broccoli is indeed a thing of beauty! Very well done. Congratulations on making it through the first few days back. I hope you manage to actually get some sleep though… really helps when you need to function the next day. 😉

  7. I would be thrilled to death if I were able to grow a head of broccoli that looked like that!!

  8. maryhysong says:

    wow, school already? And I thought they were crazy to start the first of August here! Thats a great looking broccoli! Much better than my puny ones this year.

  9. Andrea says:

    Beautiful head of broccoli Mrs Good!! did you do a little dance around the garden? I think I would of……………………. it must of been hard watching it growing the last couple of days making sure no grubs/dog/child got near it ! Still waiting for mine, planted a little late I’m thinking.
    Hope the students are treating you well, my hat off to you teaching high school students…………

  10. Dave's SFG says:

    That’s a great head of broccoli, far larger than anything I have grown. This year I had my broccoli covered to ward off the cabbage moths and let four heads bolt.

Leave a Reply

