Monday Harvest – July 30, 2012

Oh it’s a bit of a sad state of affairs in the harvest world around here.  Life has been too busy, too wet and too cold for me to even do my regular wander and harvest much at all during the week.  As a result all I have for this week’s harvest is:

Two bunches of parsley, one for a chicken noodle soup and the other for some chicken stock.

And a couple more heads of broccoli, I only managed to photograph before they were chopped up, blanched and frozen.  Having looked at the plants this evening, it looks like I’ve picked all the bigger ones (totally about 1.25kg) but I have probably another six or eight smaller (around 100g) heads and lots of side shoots.

 

There is one good thing about all this broccoli harvesting, we’ve had a break from the silver beet and the plants are looking fabulous again now after looking pretty picked over for a while.

I also meant to take some snaps of my ailing peas but that didn’t happen either.  Perhaps next week.

For more harvests head to Daphne’s.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monday Harvest – July 30, 2012

  1. Oh, rain in winter is horrible, isn’t it! We had a biting wind today but at least it is sunny. I hope the weather improves for you soon.

    That is some fabulous broccoli, and I had to *buy* parsley this week – oh the shame! I wish you were closer and we could food-swap.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Wouldn’t that be fabulous L, to be able to meet up and swap our excesses. Though I think I might get the better end of that deal, I could probably only offer parsley silverbeet and a bit of broccoli. As for the weather we had a freezing night, foggy morning, but lovely breaks of sunshine this afternoon. We were outside at playgroup and I’ve even been brave and hung the washing outside on the line.

  2. I may be soon in a similar situation. I planted all my cabbage at the same time, and while a few are trailing behind I will be in cabbage for a while in what looks like just a few days.

  3. Liz says:

    You broccoli looks great. Have I asked which variety you planted?

    • Barbara Good says:

      You’d think I would know something as important as that wouldn’t you. I am completely hopeless with varieties. Can I say just regular broccoli? No, I know that doesn’t cut it, I’ll have to dig out my seed packets tin and have a look for you.

  4. Norma Chang says:

    Hard to get into the gardening groove when it is wet and cold, same when it is hot and humid. Nice broccoli harvest.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Very hard Norma! Though give me a day with a little sunshine or at least not raining and I’ll happily spend a couple of hours out there. It’s more the young ones that keep me from spending too much time outside at the moment. They’ve both been quite sick with ear and chest infections so I don’t want them getting cold and wet which is what inevitably happens without close supervision outside.

  5. I love how broccoli and other greens turn bright green when you blanch them. So vibrant! Great looking broccoli!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Isn’t that amazing, the bright green is so vivid. The water was pretty green too, would have been good to add to soup or casserole or something probably – all those nutrients – but it just went down the drain this time.

  6. maryhysong says:

    a lovely harvest, i wish for more rain and cooler temps for my garden! Hoping that fall isn’t too far away.

Leave a Reply

