Monday Harvest, 6 August, 2012

In the midst of sick kids again, I almost forgot my Monday harvest post, so here is a very quick one for this week – not many photos either.

1.  More broccoli – one smallish head about 100g (just a guess, forgot to weigh it).  Still more to come too.  Used in a fried rice along with the last of the home grown capsicum and some home grown beans from the freezer.

2. Small bunch of silver beet, done this was again as a side dish.

3. Parsley, as always and in everything (just about).

4. Peas, actually a couple of decent sized pods, but still not enough to warrant cooking them.  Miss One and I ate them while enjoying a swing on a warm afternoon.

5. A couple of carrots – still to be used, not sure what I’ll do, perhaps a roast veg pizza or risotto. (Actually one was eaten by a cheeky three year old, but I’m not complaining, SHE ATE A VEGETABLE!)

6. One quite skinny parsnip – again still to be used.  This time I might add it to some mashed potato to trick the rest of the family.

 

 

Linking up with Daphne as always.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Harvest, 6 August, 2012

  1. Norma Chang says:

    Hope your kids are feeling a lot better.

  2. kitsapfg says:

    Sorry you have sick kids in the house – hope they are better soon. You were able to do some decent harvesting despite that though!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, escaping to the garden for a few minutes was much needed salvation for me. Unfortunately we’ve now had two freezing cold and wet days in a row and the girls are still sick, so we’re all going a little stir crazy now.

  3. Good work Miss 3! And I find parsnips very impressive – I’ve never grown one.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Don’t be too impressed L, that parsnip was TINY! I added it to some mashed potato tonight and it had quite a strong flavour despite its measly size. They grow slowly, they’re tricky to germinate and the birds love the seedlings, in all they’re darn difficult things to grow!

  4. I hope the kids feel better soon. Yay that Miss 3 ate a veggie! (I’m always stoked when I can bribe/beg/trick/convince my kids to eat their veggies.)

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, stoked is a good word for Miss Three eating a vegetable – I’ve brought out the big guns and offered a ;big’ bribe if she eats well all week. It feels like a constant negotiation with her eating habits.

  5. zentMRS says:

    I’ve gotten our kids to eat parsnips by calling them “Special Northern Carrots”. 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      I like that, perhaps I could come up with a special name for them, though Mr Good doesn’t like them either so I think that one might be a hard battle to win. I hid this one in with some mashed potatoes and they both ate it without knowing!

  6. I tried parsnips once and they did not do well. I am glad you got one so far! I have heard that store bought ones do not hold a candle to home grown.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh mine haven’t done well either, very few germinated the first time around, and then they took forever to even get to that tiny size. I’ve got some more in now so we’ll see how they do this time around.

Leave a Reply

