Monday Harvest, 13 August, 2012

As always, Daphne is hosting this week’s Monday Harvest.  I’ve been participating in this series of posts for about three months and I must say I’ve learnt so much about gardening, the pests and diseases that plague various crops, locations and seasons and a few tricks of the trade along the way.  I’ve been introduced to vegetables I knew very little about – like okra – and to dozens of new varieties of other vegetables most of which I then add to my ever growing list of seeds I want to buy.  But possibly the best thing about joining in the Monday Harvest series is the fabulous new blogs and bloggers I’ve discovered, and while I may only have the chance to ‘pop over’ once a week and I don’t always comment on every other blog, I have certainly enjoyed increasing my blogging world and having lots of new people visiting and commenting on my blog.  And with that let’s get on with this weeks harvest.

1. This is the last big harvest of broccoli and I decided to pick the lot before it bolted to seed which it was threatening to do.  In the end I gathered a basket full of larger heads, a couple of tiny heads and a bunch of side shoots.  In all it came to just under 1kg.  More of the plants were pulled out, but there are still a few giving side shoots or even still with their main head not yet ready.  Mostly I’ve just been steaming the broccoli and dressing with olive oil.  A bit more will be used with some cauliflower in a gratin and then the remaining florets will be blanched and frozen.

2. Silver beet – we had eased off the silverbeet for the last week or two, but it’s back on the regular rotation this week.  This bunch was sauted and served with steamed broccoli and poached eggs, such a healthy and satisfying meal.  I thought it would be a hard sell getting the girls to eat it, but Miss One licked the bowl clean.  Miss Three ate it, but not with so much vigour and enthusiasm.

Silverbeet with some broccoli side shoots 

3. Parsley, parsley, parsley.  It’s growing everywhere again, so there is never a shortage.  I might have to start doing the parsley pesto again.

4. Thyme – This has been the slowest of the more dormant winter herbs to get going again, so I’m still picking it sparingly.  The little I did pick went into my latest slow cooker recipe which I share later in the week.

5. Something pretty for the kitchen window sill.  I know it’s technically not what the Monday Harvest is all about, but this is the very first time I’ve really grown flowers that I can pick and bring inside and I’m really appreciating the brightness of them.  The flower in the front, the little cream frilly one came from a bulb my Mum dug up from my Nana’s garden after she died.  I have no idea what it is, can anyone identify it?  Originally I just picked the three flowers and whacked them in the vase, thinking they really needed some green.  Then I read that Andrea had picked flowering rosemary and put that in a vase, great idea I thought, so I headed back out to the garden picked the pretty flowering stems from my massive rosemary plant and voila.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Monday Harvest, 13 August, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    There are very few dishes Mr 2 approaches with anything like vigour or enthusiasm, sausages and noodle soup (and only then if its from Wang Wang dumpling) being notable and quite salty exceptions. As a result I am mighty impressed with Miss One’s approach to greenery.

    • Barbara Good says:

      What can I say Miss One is just a great eater plus she loves eggs. I was skeptical of her eating the silverbeet, but not one piece was left and nothing had been tossed on the floor in disgust either. Perhaps if I load her up now with all the good stuff she have stores of it for when she hits that defiant toddler stage!

  2. Patsy says:

    What beautiful broccoli you have there! Our favorite vegetable, and for us, not so easy to grow. Yours looks great!

  3. Andrea says:

    Still enjoying broccoli, now i’m really really jealous mine still isn’t ready !
    Love your healthy/ quick meal , I think there would be many parents who would like to know your secrets in getting your girls to eat their greens !!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Patience Andrea, I’m sure it will come. I’m not sure I could pass on any meaningful advice about kids eating their greens, I just got lucky with Miss One. Miss Three is another story altogether!

  4. Well, you got your kids to eat silver beet! That’s awesome, whether they did it with vigor or without. I’d be so excited if my kids ate greens that I might just do a jig!

    I really enjoy reading all the blogs and getting more familiar with all the bloggers in Daphne’s Dandelions, too.

    • Barbara Good says:

      It seems quite a story that at least one of my kids eats silverbeet, the other is apparently more normal and turns her nose up at the green stuff. I obviously should have celebrated a bit more at the time.

  5. “Child ate silverbeet”. That’s a news headline, right there 🙂

  6. kitsapfg says:

    That broccoli is beautiful. Getting the young ones to eat good whole food is a cause for celebration.

  7. rowena says:

    I only recently started joining in on Harvest Monday and like the new ideas I’m getting for what to plant next year. I’m the opposite on parsley and thyme….while the parsley toodles along, the thyme does quite well without any help from me. Oddly enough, it is the parsley that I use most in cooking but only occasionally the thyme!

  8. maryhysong says:

    beautiful broccoli! and what a great start on the road to life, feeding your kids things that are good for them! 😉

  9. Barbie says:

    Broccoli is the fastest veggie eaten around here. All of us enjoy it – anyway it’s prepared. LOL.

  10. It really is amazing what kids will eat when it’s grown in their own yard 🙂 Your broccoli is just beautiful! Happy harvesting!!!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Not sure if it has anything to do the fact that I grew them, more to do with Miss One just being a really good eater. having said that Miss Three has suddenly started eating broccoli (but only the tree bits, not the stalk) since I started picking it from the garden.

  11. Rick says:

    I’d love to see the recipe for that parsley pesto, we have parsley growing right now and I’m not sure what to do with all of it. Of course flower can be part of harvest Monday!! They look great!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Hi Rick, parsley pesto is a breeze, make it the same as basil pesto. So fill the food processor with has much parsley was you want, add walnuts (instead of pine nuts), garlic and grated parmesan cheese. Whizz till all is well chopped then drizzle in olive oil until it becomes the consistency of basil pesto. Then it’s just a matter of stirring through cooked pasta – if it’s a bit thick just had a couple of spoonfuls of the pasta water to thin it out. It keeps for quite a long time if you add some olive oil to top in the jar and refrigerate. I’ve also experimented with other nuts (cashews and macadamias etc) and they’ve all worked well.

  12. Lisa says:

    Your harvest is lovely. I’ve seen that flower at florists, but can’t think of the name…

  13. Could the white flower be another variety of rannuculi (I can’t remember how to spell it)?
    I love combining herbs and veggies with flowers. Carrot greens and parsley also make nice greenery with cut flowers.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Hi Sarah, just looked up ranunculus, not quite right, but they are very pretty, might have to get some of them now. The herb and flower combo worked well – and the rosemary lasts for ages so I can get away with just changing the other flowers as more come up in the garden and the ones in the vase wilt. I love the idea of carrot greens and parsley too – I’ll be sure to keep the, from my next harvest of carrots.

  14. jenny says:

    Very nice looking broccoli.

Leave a Reply

