Monday Harvest – 20 August, 2012

My veggie garden is at a kind of strange stage at the moment, being in between everything really.  The peas – those that have survived others have lost their battle against the wet I think – are all in flower but I’m only getting a few pods.  The carrots and turnips are coming to maturity only a few at a time and the rest of the root veg are a long way off.  Half the broad beans are in flower, the rest are still all green (though I am going to nip the tops off next week and stir fry them).  The broccoli is basically all harvested aside from a few side shoots.  The cabbages are not yet ready and are taking an age to get past the very small head phase.  The celery isn’t yet ready to pick though is getting bigger – I’m wishing now that I had blanched all the plants with milk cartons as those left alone are spreading out sideways instead of growing up.  The pak choy has gone to seed.  In short nothing is where I’d like it, but I have managed to pick a bit.

1. Silverbeet – this lot was sauted with garlic, balsamic vinegar and lemon juice.  Even Mr Good was taken with it and to say he is over silverbeet would be a massive understatement!

2. A couple of carrots – steamed and served with a roast chicken.

3. One turnip – roasted with some potatoes.  I ate this one, no one else was keen on turnip on its own, but I thought it was delicious.

4, A few peas – added to some frozen peas and steamed with the carrots.

5. A few broccoli side shoots – blanched

6, Parsley – for a stuffing for the roast chicken and some beef stock among other things.

7. Chives – for some root vegetable soup

8. Bay leaf – for beef stock

9. Flowers (including a couple of sweet peas) and rosemary for some vases.  I took Sarah’s advice from last week and teamed some of the flowers with the carrot tops I picked at the same time, I think they look quite sweet on my window sill.

 

Linking in the Daphne and others for the weekly harvest update.

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Monday Harvest – 20 August, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    My garden is very in between things at the moment too. My broad beans are behind yours though – no flowers on mine yet…or at least I hope yet…

    • Barbara Good says:

      I’m sure your broad beans will flower abundantly in due course – I think from memory yours were a bit later than mine last year too. Perhaps I plant them earlier? I’ve read a few people mention that they are in the in between phase in their gardens too, made me feel a little better about my own efforts.

  2. Wow, carrot tops in a flower vase – awesome! It looks like a fern! Thats so clever – Sarah is really good with this stuff isnt she?! – Kara xx

  3. I, too, love the carrot tops in a vase! Great idea! I am envious of your turnip and must get some in the ground immediately! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Turnips are great, very quick and easy to grow as root veg go, though I would suggest successional planting in small numbers, a glut of turnips is a bit tricky to deal with!

  4. kitsapfg says:

    I have a single turnip that needs harvesting, a remnant of the spring planting that apparently laid dormant for a while and then grew after all the others had been removed from the bed. It is quite big now and needs harvesting. Not quite sure what to do with a single root though?!

  5. Patsy says:

    Nice looking turnip! I’m also thinking there may be time to get a few if I plant them now. Your carrots look better than mine, and mine have had all summer to grow! The flowers with the carrot tops look beautiful. What a great way to re-purpose what usually goes straight to the compost pile!

  6. Barbie says:

    LOVE the carrot tops in the arrangement. I wonder how long they lasted… and must remember this!

  7. Rick says:

    A great little harvest! I’m always impatient with that “in between time” in the spring. You see everything you will be eating soon but there’s nothing you can do to hurry it a long!! Augh!! 🙂

  8. We are also in between here. I have pulled our squashes and the tomatoes look very ratty and have started our cool season crops.

    • Barbara Good says:

      It seems to be the same on both sides of the globe, time to pull things out and start the next lot. If only I had a bigger garden so I could let things run their course more fully and still have room for the next lot.

  9. I love the look of carrot tops with the flowers. I had never thought of that. too bad none of our carrots took this year.

  10. Andrea says:

    I must confess I’m still yet to plant turnips or parsnips so thanks for the reminder, I’m sure the growth in our veggies have stalled due to the lack of sunshine although cabbages do take a long time to mature but I’m sure they will be worth the wait.
    About the pickled cabbage and veggies my plan was to eat them alongside a bit of salad and quiche for lunch when the weather warms up a bit…….springs only 11 days away !! had a taste test this morning and taste great, sharp, crisp and the flavour of the mustard seed/cloves etc works well………………………..Hope your having a good week!

    • Barbara Good says:

      I hope you have more luck with parsnips than me, I’ve planted loads, but only two managed to get to harvestable (but still very small) size. I am looking longingly at the cabbages just willing them to get a move on!

      The pickled veg sound delicious!

  11. Norma Chang says:

    I too love the carrot top in the vase, very clever indeed. Agree with Rick there is nothing one can do to hurry along the growing of anything. I frequently say: “gardening teaches us patience”.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, a test in patience it certainly is! As is parenting and teaching, I’m definitely getting a thorough lesson at the moment! A little instant gratification would be nice at some point.

  12. maryhysong says:

    I”m not quite to the ‘tweens here but probably will be soon

Leave a Reply

