The Weekend Wrap – 26 August, 2012

This weekend has been one of the quietest we’ve had in a long while.  Of course it started with swimming and a market, probably my favourite (if I can get their on my own which I did this weekend) – the Slow Food Market and Abbotsford convent.  They also had a makers fair there, but sadly my sister and I were on a time schedule so ran out of time for that.  I love this one for its location, the way the stalls are spread through a few different courtyard areas, the variety of stalls and the cafe for lunch at the end.

The produce I came home with was much the same as previous weeks, fruit, vegetables, a whole chicken. some ham.  The only different things and ones that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with yet (suggestions please) were chorizo and some bio-dynamic brown rice (after seeing it on one of L’s posts).  At the appointed hour I met Mr Good for the children swap as he went off to play a round of golf – something he hasn’t done for many, many months – and I headed home with the girls.  They had had busy mornings and both fell asleep in the car on the trip and instead of waking them I let them sleep in the car as we were parked in the drive way for about an hour.  I listened to the footy on the radio and had a rare peaceful moment to just stop.

Today I’ve done very little.  Most of the day was just Miss One and I at home and while she slept this afternoon I lay on the couch and read – something else I haven’t done in what seems forever.  We had some errands to do this afternoon and given that we were car-less it was on foot that we set off to do these.  First was do return an overdue book to the library, that was easy, next on the list was the bakery and the chemist… only just as the girls started slicing the loaf of bread I realised I had left my purse at home!  Oops, back home without our bread we went.  Quite annoying given that it’s quite a long walk.  Thankfully I had been sussing out various gardens along the way and brought home a collection of cuttings from one front garden or another that we passed along the way.  I’m trying to gather a collection of plants for the front garden, so hopefully I’ll have something to show for it in a few months.

And to finish I wanted to share with you a few things that I’ve seen lately that give me hope that a public education system is something that can be pretty amazing, filled with amazing students and amazing teachers, despite what certain News Limited journalists might think.

This entry was posted in The Weekend Wrap, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Weekend Wrap – 26 August, 2012

  1. Now that’s a weekend to savor. My weekend has been pretty quiet here. I took most of yesterday to just “be” taking time to visit with friends and some extra time to read. Today, while taking it slow, no pressure, I have been cleaning outside, doing some small painting…isn’t it great when we don’t have to live by a schedule and can just take the day as it comes?

  2. Liz says:

    I think you forgot the link at the end? Love the footy on the radio – glad Gerard Whately (spelling?) is back – I missed him while he was covering the Olympics. As for your chorizo – it depends how strong it is but I like it in a tomato based casserole with chicken. BBQ’d with some haloumi & tabouleh or on top of some Caldo Verde.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks for the heads up on the links Liz, not sure what happened there, I remember putting the links in. Anyway I’ve fixed it now. I too love Gerard!

      Thanks for the ideas for the chorizo too.

Leave a Reply

