Monday Harvest – 27 August, 2012

Silverbeet has once again taken over as the main feature from my harvest this week, having said that I didn’t manage to snap a photo of the leaves I picked.  But let’s face it, all silverbeet looks much the same, especially as I don’t grow the rainbow variety.  The most common way I prepare it is sauteed with garlic, balsamic vinegar and lemon juice, though I have just been given a recipe for a mushroom and silverbeet lasagna which I plan to have a go at sometime this week.

Aside from the silverbeet, I picked this bunch of broccoli side shoots – I’ve been quite surprised at how many and how big the side shoots can get (though some are very small).

The first decent bunch of mint after it came out of it’s long winter sleep.  This went into a fresh and crisp Vietnamese Chicken Coleslaw (your recipe again Liz).

My first little bit of coriander (Yay!) also went into this dish.  Having said that the coriander isn’t looking that good on the window sill.

Parsley as always, among other things this went into the Beef Strogonoff.

Thyme used in a chicken pot roast which I’ll share on Thursday.

That’s the bulk of it.  If my cabbages grew faster by being stared at, poked and prodded they’d be huge by now, but sadly they are still plodding along.  The broad bean tips will come off in the next day or two and I’ll do something with them.  There will also be a couple of turnips and excitingly some radishes ready soon too.

Check out the other harvests here.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Monday Harvest – 27 August, 2012

  1. Sounds like you are doing well in the garden. I just noticed we missed the boat on the broccolli – didn’t check it enough and the head turned brown, but the side shoots are still there. I guess we will have to be content with those.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh how annoying! I often miss the boat with broccoli as it bolts to seed before I can pick it. Thankfully not this year. The side shoots are lovely and the stems are tender enough not to need a longer cooking time like the main stem sometimes do.

  2. Liz says:

    Its nice to have mint again isn’t it – mine has started growing too. My cabbage experience mirrors yours as well – not the quickest of veg are they? Actually I think that every year but then every year I’m really excited to eventually get one or two.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Mint, thank goodness it’s back, and I must say it’s looking lusciously healthy. I’m with you on the cabbage too, it’s going to be so exciting to actually pick one!

  3. Patsy says:

    Broccoli side shoots are a nice bonus after the heads are gone! They look great!

    • Barbara Good says:

      They really are a bonus, just when I think that will be it I go out a few days later and there are more of them. Surely there can’t be too many more and the plants will need to come out soon.

  4. The mint looks so healthy. Hope your cabbages hurry along for you 🙂

  5. leduesorelle says:

    Our mint is looking straggly at this time of year, but maybe there’s still enough to make Vietnamese Chicken Coleslaw, sounds delicious!

  6. kitsapfg says:

    Silverbeet (chard) is such a great garden workhorse. I gave my chard plants a good hair cut this week too and enjoyed it as part of Thai Chicken Rama (using the chard as a replacement for the spinach in the traditional recipe).

    • Barbara Good says:

      Mine gets a pretty severe hair cut when nothing else is one offer in the garden. It’s the vegetable that gets forgotten when there are more exciting things to pick, but then I turn to it in a moment of desperation when I need something to put on the plate for dinner in thirty minutes – talk about being taken advantage of! I’ll have to look up a recipe for Thai Chicken Rama – sounds intriguing.

  7. Barbie says:

    Broccoli…MMMmmm – OH! Time to go sow some! LOL. THanks for the remider.

  8. maryhysong says:

    Yes chard is tried and true; a really faithful workhorse in the kitchen garden!

  9. Rick says:

    Looking very good! I’m jealous of your spring weather, we usually don’t get warm enough for broccoli and cabbage until June which I guess would be your equivalent of December.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, we’ve had a couple of absolutely glorious – though a bit windy – days here the last few. It’s raining now, and they’re predicting hail, snow to low levels and storms tomorrow, so it’s back to being wintry.

  10. zentMRS says:

    Your broccoli looks lovely – we are hoping to grow some this fall. We’ve haven’t had the best of luck in past years, but we’re always willing to give it another try!

  11. jenny says:

    Nice harvest, I only planted 2 chard plants (silverbeet) but they produce enough for us to eat all summer long.

  12. Dave says:

    You’re making me hungry just reading about the dishes! The Vietnamese Chicken Coleslaw sounds intriguing.

  13. I have things in my garden that don’t seem to grow despite prodding, poking and general asking about their “cussedness.” I am sure you’ll eventually get cabbages. Nice harvests. Those broccoli look really nice. I love home grown broccoli and it is really worth the space in the garden to me.

Leave a Reply

