Monday Harvest – 10 September, 2012

There wasn’t loads coming in from the garden this week, but still a good variety.

1. Silverbeet – added to some spaghetti bolognaise.  There’s a fine line with this one, too much green and it will turn Miss Three off, just enough bulks out the meat a little and sneaks some vegetables into my reluctant first born.

2. 3 turnips to be used tomorrow night with some other root vegetables to go along side some leek tartlets which I baked tonight.

3. 2 radishes – these are the first radishes to be picked.  Again they’ll be used in a side salad, thinly sliced for tomorrow night’s dinner.  Hopefully they taste great.

4. A few peas – just enough for a quick and yummy snack.

5. Another couple of handfuls of broccoli side shoots.  I just can’t get over how much the broccoli continued to produce after that first main head was picked.

6. Some lettuce – not sure of the variety as it was self seeded from a mixed lettuce crop I planted last year.  This is the first lettuce from the garden for a long while.

7. Thyme – which went into the leek tartlets.

8. Parsley – for some scrambled eggs among other things.

9. And some gorgeous tulips and sweet scented freesias.  In the with tulips I put thyme and parsley, I thought it looked quite sweet.

 

And that’s been my Monday harvest, for more head over to Daphne’s Dandelions.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Harvest – 10 September, 2012

  1. Tulips are my absolute favourite flower – I wish they bloomed all year long. Your tarts look delicious. Are the leeks caramelized first?

  2. Liz says:

    I do like your leek tartlets in a muffin tray – good idea – I should do that – I have these individual quiche dishes I use but they are a real pain to clean – a muffin tray would be far easier.

  3. Patsy says:

    What you have looks great! I’m intrigued by the leek tartlets, since i have a load of leeks in the garden and usually only end up using them in potato-leek soup.

  4. Ooohhh turnips! I do hope our turnips turn out this fall 😉 Thanks for telling us what you’ve done with each items harvested! It’s fun to see what others are doing with their bounty!

    • Barbara Good says:

      I find turnips one of the easiest and quickest root vegetables to grow, I’m sure yours will do great. I love hearing what other people do with their harvests so I thought I’d share mine, especially as my harvest was pretty small.

  5. zentMRS says:

    Leek tartlets? Will you share your recipe?

  6. maryhysong says:

    A lovely harvest! Everything is looking good and your menus sound delicious!

  7. Jenny says:

    I have never tried growing turnips but yours look lovely. Beautiful harvest overall.

  8. Norma Chang says:

    I too love your leek tartlets, very clever to use the muffin tins. That was a nice harvest.

  9. Lisa says:

    Gosh, everything looks so delicious. (Wondering fi I could grow turnips…)

Leave a Reply

