Monday Harvest – 17 September, 2012

Another week down and just one more to go before I’m on holidays and will have several child-free days where I’m hoping to get into the garden uninterrupted.  I have so much seed planting I really need to get on with.  I was great getting the tomatoes, eggplants and capsicums in early, but I haven’t managed anything since then.  That could have serious consequences on my harvest in the coming months, especially if I need to replant three times because of the dreaded snails and slugs eating the seedlings!

Anyway, on to this week’s harvest, such as it was (lots of eating out this week just gone so not as much call for harvesting).

 

One days pickings included a large turnip – I had somehow missed when I picked the earlier ones and it was larger than I usually like them to grow to – which I’m not sure what I’m going to do with.

Some more broccoli side shoots.  I picked enough this week that I blanched some and froze three small packets of them for later use.

A small bunch of flowers, mainly freesias.  Speaking of which when I was visiting my grandfather over the weekend I spied a small patch of them in my Nana’s garden.  They looked really sweet blooming under a tree in the far corner of the garden.

 

My celery is finally big enough to start picking.  This lot went into the stock when I cooked a corned beef in the slow cooker.  I planted WAY more than I needed to, so I foresee cream of celery soup in the future, though I know it needs quite a lot of water so it will be interesting to see how it goes over the summer months.

I also picked a lot of parsley, mostly to go into the parsley sauce for the corned beef.

Coriander which went into a salmon noodle soup.  I continue to find coriander the most frustrating of the herbs to grow.  This time around I grew it inside on the window sill.  It never got really big – I probably should have repotted it once it was going, outside.  Having said that, it’s now bolted to flower so that might be it for this time.

There may have also been a pea pod or two in there, but not much.

That’s it for this week, but there’s plenty more over at Daphne’s.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monday Harvest – 17 September, 2012

  1. Patsy says:

    Nice that you will have celery! I never got mine transplanted and am so sorry not to have any homegrown for soups this winter.

  2. Liz says:

    My coriander is doing well at the moment. I have best results from buying punnets in winter and planting them out (or sowing seed in late Autumn but the punnets are easier). This way I usually get harvests through late July – late September (longer if I’m really lucky). Beyond that I struggle with it too.

  3. I love cream of celery soup and that celery looks lovely. Your turnip looks absolutely perfect too.

  4. Andrea says:

    Your broccoli has been so productive………all those little side shoots add up.
    The Salmon Noddle soup sounds interesting, did all the family enjoy it? I planted some coriander seeds into a pot and then put a plastic bag over the top, it took about 7 days and now the seeds are poking through. Not having much luck with my tomatoe seeds so brought a punnet of Roma’s and have planted them into pots and have them under the veranda in a sometimes sunny spot.(here’s hoping)

    • Barbara Good says:

      The salmon soup was really nice, perhaps a bit too much Chinese five spice for me, but Mr Good liked that. Miss One, as always, polished off the whole bowl, make a glorious mess in the process. Miss Three went to bed without having eaten more than a tiny spoonful, but she wasn’t interested in eating anything that night, oh so frustrating she is.

      My coriander seeds came through easily enough, I have much more problems getting to to grow to a decent size without bolting, At least with it on the window sill it was safe from small hands!

      Good luck with the tomatoes, most of mine are now in pots under the pergola with some sun too. Hope yours do well.

  5. kitsapFG says:

    I am missing my fresh celery. I have lots of it in the freezer from my spring/summer crop but fresh is always nicer. Excited for you for your upcoming holidays!

  6. Norma Chang says:

    My Chinese celery did not do well this year, next year. Your broccoli is doing so well. Slugs are a big issue with me but not snails, haven’t seen any, maybe they are hiding somewhere in the garden.

  7. Jenny says:

    Celery is one thing I haven’t had much of a success with so far. Maybe next year will be better.

  8. You have a great harvest, but what makes me want to comment is that I, too, spend my time in the garden, when I get some free time from my kids.

  9. Dave says:

    Cream of celery soup is a great idea! I’m thinking I have too much celery also.

  10. zentMRS says:

    We’ve never had luck with celery – looking forward to seeing how yours does!

  11. Barbie says:

    Forget the harvest! You get child free days? Now I’m REALLY jealous!!! 😉
    teehee

Leave a Reply

