Harvest Monday – 24 September, 2012

It’s funny how much you find to pick from the garden when you spend some considerable time out there catching up on all the jobs that have been waiting for some free time and fine weather to get done.  That was me this weekend and as a result the harvest this week was surprisingly varied.

 

1. The first full sized cabbage (with six more in almost the same stage so I better think of some ideas to cook with cabbage).

2. Two turnips (only one pictured) – these were roasted along with some parsnips (below), carrot, pumpkin and red capsicum and added to a salad with lettuce, radishes (above), four bean mix and chorizo  sausage and dressed with a dressing of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, brown sugar, garlic, salt and pepper.

3. Three radishes – I should be planting some more seeds, but the broad beans are where I want new root vegetable bed to go so they will have to wait.

4. Curly lettuce – my faithful volunteer plant that just keeps on performing.

 

5. Two quite skinny, but still very tasty parsnips.

6. Another bunch of broccoli side shoots – only a few plants left on the garden now, but it’s still coming in each week.

 

7. A handful of peas – this is actually the best harvest I’ve had in one go and it was still very small.  These got stirred into some napoli sauce.

8. Celery stalks – for a beef stir fry with oyster sauce

9. Kale – I planted Russian Red Kale late and on a whim a while ago when I came into some free seeds.  I’ve pretty much neglected them since then and it hasn’t done much, but I did manage to pick a bit this week to add to the stir fry.

10. A few pak choy leaves – planted and neglected at the same time as the kale.  In the past the pak choy has grown without much care or attention, this time however it shot to flower pretty quickly so I haven’t managed to pick much.  Thankfully it’s fast growing so I’ll plant some more soon and hope it lasts a bit longer.

11. Parsley – for the salad especially, but also for other random dishes.

And that’s been my week in the garden, now I’m off to see what everyone else has been picking.

 

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Harvest Monday – 24 September, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    My Russian kale was attacked by aphids and never recovered unfortunately. Great harvests – your cabbages look great.

  2. Patsy says:

    Very nice harvest! It looks like spring!

  3. kitsapfg says:

    Lovely mix of bits and pieces harvest! I love those kinds of harvests because they lend themselves well to creative cooking and meal planning.

  4. Michelle says:

    It is fun to find how all those bits can add up to a satisfying harvest. Looks great!

  5. Great cabbage, and lovely to get some parsnips. I hear they are sllooooww…

  6. Jenny says:

    Lovely harvest and greens. I will try growing parsnips next year.

  7. Your cabbage looks perfect! I have yet to be successful at growing it, but you inspire me to try again next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

