Harvest Monday – 29 October, 2012

Not to many photos this week, most of the harvesting happened minutes before said harvest ended up in the pot, or picked while I was doing other jobs in the yard and without the camera.  Thankfully, despite the lack of pictures things are still coming in.

  

Lots of celery – some for a risotto (I love celery in risotto), some for salad and some for a friend.

A handful of snow peas which went into a salad also.

Red Kale – my new favourite harvest item, I’m loving it!

Several big piles of broad beans (enough to fill a shopping bag).  Most of this is earmarked for a pasta dish with some bacon and mushrooms.

A basketful of silverbeet which went into the ricotta gnocchi dish pictured above (I settled on Liz’s recipe which was delicious, but a small bowl was more than enough for me)

Sage – for the butter sage sauce for the gnocchi.

Parsley – for both the risotto and the salads, plus lots for friends.

Want more?  Here it is….

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Harvest Monday – 29 October, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    Glad you enjoyed it. I should be getting my first broad bean harvest next week – I’m really looking forward to it I have to say. I am jealous of your celery – when did you plant it, i think I mucked up my timings and mine never did well.

  2. Sarah says:

    I never have any luck with celery either. Mind are always very thin and stringy. And this year they also had tiny bugs inside the celery sticks (somehow the sticks were a bit hollow and filled with small bugs). Would love to hear any tips on how to grow celery more successfully!

  3. Diana says:

    Sounds delicious from variety of harvest ;).

  4. Patsy says:

    Wonderful variety to your harvest! I never got my celery into the garden this year, so I envy you yours. Although I will say, when I plant it mine tends to get diseased easily. And the ricotta gnocchi really looks delicious.

  5. kitsapFG says:

    I am missing my fresh celery but have a bunch in the freezer to use for cooking. Your beans are still looking really good.

  6. Barbie says:

    Wow! Wonderful harvest. Your beans look spectacular. Then again I haven’t had good beans in a while. Only cowpeas and such. LOL.

  7. Lisa says:

    Gnocchi! That’s something we’ve never tried to make from scratch. Very impressive!

  8. Michelle says:

    Oh yum, ricotta gnocchi, one of my favorite things! Everything looks and sounds wonderful.

  9. Jo says:

    I love that red kale too 🙂 It makes yummy kale chips.

  10. Jo says:

    I actually joked the other day that it would make a great wedding bouquet. I was only half joking 🙂

  11. Nancy Davis says:

    I second the motion on tips to grow celery as I hope to plant some for next year. Nice that you are getting so many things out of your garden. Nancy

Leave a Reply

