Salmon, broccoli and Broad Bean Pasta

First off this is NOT a slow cooker recipe, in fact it is one of the quickest, freshest and easiest dishes to whip up, the very opposite of slow cooking.  In fact it is so fast that it was the perfect dish to prepare and serve up to two starving post-swimming lesson little ones (and my kids are always desperate to eat after swimming).  It was also the ideal dish for yesterday’s very warm weather, nothing like today’s barely 16 degrees C.  This is my own recipe so the amounts are very much instinctive, so I have just estimated how much I usually put in.  The original recipe came out of a magazine years ago and used capers instead of the beans and broccoli which did add a nice saltiness to the dish, but I prefer the freshness of the green, garden-fresh vegetables.

 

300g pasta (any shape but I particularly like these shells or the bows)
2 small-medium salmon fillets
100g podded broad beans (just a guess, but the amount is totally up to you)
100g broccoli – I used the skinny side shoots which worked really well)
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
Olive oil
A good sized bunch of parsley
Salt and Pepper

Cook the pasta in lightly salted water until al dente.  Drain and add to a large bowl.

Cook the salmon in a hot frying pan, seasoned with a little salt and pepper.  I added a little oil to the pan, but if you have a good non-stick pan you may not need this.  Remove from the pan when the fish is just cooked through.  Shred with two forks and add to the bowl with the pasta.

While the fish and pasta are cooking, pod the broad beans and steam quickly with the broccoli.  Double peel the broad beans and add both vegetables to the bowl.

Finally, zest and juice the lemon and add to the pasta.  Finally chop the parsley and add that to the bowl,  Then add a good lug of extra virgin olive oil and some cracked pepper.  Stir it until everything is mixed together and serve warm.

As for the verdict from the family, this one is a winner all around, except when Miss Three is having an ‘I don’t eat oil’ day – a very unpredictable event.  Miss One can’t get enough of this dish and it’s one of Mr Good’s and my favourites.  This week for the first time I used salmon fillets from the farmer’s market and it had the gorgeous oiliness to it which made the dish even better.  Make sure you add plenty of parsley too, that freshness with the lemon is a winning combination.  And the best bit for me, it was dinner on the table in to time it took to cook the pasta (or two episodes of Peppa Pig).

If you have left overs, they are quite nice eaten cold – I don’t think it would reheat well.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Salmon, broccoli and Broad Bean Pasta

  1. Delicious and something the little ones would gladly eat as salmon is a current favorite.

  2. This looks (and sounds) delicious! The only thing is, I’ve never heard of “broad beans”. I guess I’ll have to go look that one up. I want to make this, even if I have to substitute for the beans! I’ll definitely be eating it by myself though, since hubby detests any kind of fish – I know, strange, huh?

    Thanks for sharing! I love that it’s easy, quick and nutritious!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Hi,

      sorry I should have added somewhere that broad beans are also called fava beans in other parts of the world.

      I’ve also used capers in the past and I think fresh green peas would work too. Hope you enjoy it!

  3. Pingback: Recipe Swap – Pizza or Pasta | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

