The Weekend Wrap – 4 November, 2012

After a beautiful, sunny and very warm weekend spent mostly in the garden, I though I might take you on a little tour to show you what I have been up to.  Seriously my garden has never looked this neat, organised and weed-free I feel I should throw open the gates (if I had any) and let you all in.

My broad beans growing and producing like crazy in front of my kitchen window.  So far I’ve picked 3-4kg so far.  Looking at the plants there will be another couple of weeks of picking before they succumb to rust or just stop producing beans.

  

The first bead above has my root vegetables.  I’m really hoping to plant this out with some salad greens, chilli and a few other things, but those darned parsnips are taking an absolute age to grow.  The second picture shows my overrun silverbeet now starting to flower so I will give the whole bed a tidy up on Tuesday.  You can see it has self seeded all along the front of the raised bed as well.

 

 

This spot used to be home to a somewhat awkward round potting table (well outdoor table I had turned into a potting table).  The lemon/lime was on the other side of the door in prime position to be crashed into when riding laps of the yard on the pick trike you can see parked near the tree.  I now have a nice compact rectangular table around the corner.  In the other pots I have a fuchsia, pelagonium and a little tomato which I’ll add some basil too in a day or two.

 

These two show the other side of the house – note that pathway, clear of weed piles, garden stakes, rope, buckets and tools.  You can see the large veggie bed with celery at this end plus one of the smaller raised beds.  In front is another collection of pots with strawberries, blueberries, bay tree, potatoes and spring onions.  The second shot is of about half the small but well used patch of lawn, the sand pit with the apple trees on either side.  Again note the lack of weeds!

  

Potato cages with King Edward, Pink Fir and Dutch Creams.  This is actually only about half of them.  In the second shot is garlic with sunflower seeds planted in front.

This somewhat bare looking bed currently has some rogue potatoes, load of marigolds, and few nasturtiums, a volunteer tomato and two zucchinis, the only things I planted.  It will be interesting to see what it looks like a in a month’s time.  I suspect I will need to transplant a few things.

 

My purple climbing beans with the newly constructed frame thanks to Mr Good.  I also have some green beans and bush beans, though these were badly attacked by snails so I’ve replanted some of these.  Also my kale, see how pretty it is.

  

And to finish with my over-wintered capsicum coming back to life and the first of my tomatoes almost ready to flower.

I did have a few helpers too.

  

 

So what’s looking good in your garden this weekend.

 

This entry was posted in The Weekend Wrap and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weekend Wrap – 4 November, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    Your garlic is looking really healthy – mine is looking a bit sad and sorry for itself, the bulbs are forming but I’m not sure if they are going to get as big as I’d like before the plants give up. Those broad beans are huge!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yeah, I didn’t show the other two garlic patches as they are absolutely pathetic. And yes, the broad beans did get away from me a bit this year, they didn’t like the wind we had so I’ve had to rope them up. It’s quite tricky to harvest them now and I think the lack of air circulation is causing the rust to spread.

Leave a Reply

