Monday Harvest – 5 November, 2012

I’m secretly pretty proud of this harvest (okay, it’s perhaps not so secret) and while it may not stack up in quantity and variety with many other ‘Harvesters’, it is the best one I’ve had in a long time.

    

 

To start with I picked another basketful of broad beans weighing in at about 2kg.  I will need to blanch some and freeze them as the huge bagful I have in the fridge is more than we can get through this week.  The rest will go into a spring vegetable lasagna from Jamie Oliver’s 30 minute meals.  I made this last year as well and it’s delicious.

Seven snow peas, not a lot but the perfect amount for a crunchy salad.

One whole celery (which was starting to bolt and I wanted the space so the whole thing came out).  This will go into a cream of celery soup and the tops into stock.  Oh and as for tips for growing celery, I think it’s a pure fluke, but it has been wetter than usual and I grew them where the potatoes grew last year – with all that compost, manure and mulch that I built the spuds up with – so perhaps that explains my success.  I will say the flavour is quite strong and the very outside stalks can be a bit tougher.  The one I picked was one of three that I protected with half a milk carton.  This made it very tall and straight, but almost impossible to pick individual stalks so I wouldn’t do it to all my plants.

  

 

 

Four mutant parsnips – I don’t know why but all except for one has multiple roots.  Anyone know why this happens.

4 of the most gloriously perfect looking carrots.  These are dark orange, thicker than a thumb (my fingers are ridiculously skinny so being thicker than my thumb would be no great feat, but they’re also thicker than Mr Good’s somewhat chunkier thumbs) and quite long.  In fact they wouldn’t look out of place in the supermarket.  And I thought I couldn’t grow carrots, turns out I was just being a tad impatient and needed to leave them in the ground longer.

 

A large bunch of kale.

And……. wait for it……. drum roll please

 

 

 

 

 

The very first ripe strawberry, which Miss Three ate with relish, declaring that ‘it tastes like summer!’  What a perfect statement.

That’s it…. are you impressed?  If not perhaps one of the others will surpass your expectations.

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Harvest – 5 November, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    Very impressed! Loving it all and far better than my efforts this week. Nice work. As for the parsnips my understanding is that root vegetables tend to do that when the roots are disturbed. This could either be because you transplanted them, something dug up their roots or their roots hit a rock or bit of heavy clay etc etc when growing. Or perhaps they just wanted two legs…

  2. Bek says:

    Very nice! The first strawberry of the season is a wonderful thing. I like your celery detail, as mine was woefully thin and stringy, but will be more aware of feeding and watering next year. I have no idea on the parsnip thing.

  3. Patsy says:

    Very wonderful harvest! That strawberry is beautiful! So is the celery and everything else you picked! Of course you can be proud!

  4. kitsapfg says:

    The strawberry looks delicious. Mine are now done for the season and I am missing them. You are absolutely correct that the combination of more rain and a rich humousy soil is why the celery grew well. They love really rich soil and to never go dry. I found composted chicken manure added to the celery bed is the optimal amendment – high nitrogen (even after composting) and our rainy climate helps with the irrigation.

  5. Norma Chang says:

    I agree with Liz about the parsnips. Strawberry, I am impressed. I tried growing broad beans but was unsuccessful so gave up.

  6. You should absolutely be proud! What a wonderful harvest! Congratulations!

  7. Barbie says:

    Ah, well- You beat my harvest. LOL. I only got 3 things from my garden, one was a cheat – from my birds! 😉 beautiful berry!

  8. leduesorelle says:

    Yes, indeed, I’m impressed! Lovely intimations of spring and more wonderful things to come!

  9. Nancy Davis says:

    That is a very nice harvest! A lot, lot bigger harvest than I got this time of year! I am getting practically nothing so am envious! lol Nancy

  10. I am absolutely impressed. Such wonderful things from your garden.

Leave a Reply

