Harvest Monday – 3 December, 2012

Wow, the final month of the year already, how scary.  Tonight’s post will be a quick one, joining in as usual with Daphne and the other Harvest Monday-ers.

IMG_0344  IMG_0345

Root vegetables – a motley looking crew, especially this rather mutant parsnip.  In total there were 7 parsnips of varying sizes, three carrots and two beetroot.  They were all roasted and added to a salad with mixed lettuce, chickpeas and goats cheese and dressed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and Dijon mustard.

IMG_0250

A big pile of kale – I picked almost all the leaves off the plants thinking they will bolt soon, but they’ve already sprung back so I’ll be picking for a while longer it seems.  I chopped all of this up (after washing and thoroughly de-caterpillaring) and froze it.

A whole celery – all my celery is going to seed so I’m in the process of picking most of it.  I will collect seed from one of the plants.  As they need a lot of water I won’t grow them over the summer.  This lot is still in the fridge, I’m thinking a Waldorf salad.

2 onions – they are quite green still so I’ll use them as salad onions I think.

4 slightly bigger garlic bulbs, still tiny though.  The rest will have to come out soon by the looks of the plants.  I hope they are a bit bigger than these ones!

IMG_0249

And the centrepiece, a dozen blueberries (the first off my bush yay!) and two glorious strawberries.  I ate them with some plain yogurt for breakfast one morning.

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Harvest Monday – 3 December, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    How long did it take your berries take to turn blue. I feel like I’ve been waiting forever… did you net them?

    • Barbara Good says:

      Ages Liz, it took ages for them to turn blue. I now have lots of fairly big, but pink berries on the bush so I’m back to waiting. And yes I did net them, between birds, the dog and the two girls I figured it was worth the trouble to net them if I actually wanted any to make it inside.

  2. becky3086 says:

    Very very nice. You are inspiring me to do more planting today.

  3. Patsy says:

    What a good idea to roast those root vegetables and make a salad with them! Sounds delicious! Everything you have harvested looks so good.

    • Barbara Good says:

      The salad worked a treat and was more than enough for Mr Good and I for dinner (plus lunch the next day). The girls had eaten earlier so they didn’t share it, not sure how they would have gone with it.

  4. Andrea says:

    IYes a very strange looking parsnip……….Mmmm roasted root veg sounds great, do the girls enjoy those too? mine would only ever eat carrots and potatoes!

    • Barbara Good says:

      That parsnip tasted great, all those odd leggy bits turned nice and crispy. The girls tucked into some of the raosted veg on their own, but they had eaten earlier that night so they didn’t actually have the salad. Miss One will literally eat anything, I’m sure Miss Three would have turned her nose up at it all. She currently doesn’t eat potatoes or oil so this salad would have been terribly offensive to her!

  5. Michelle says:

    That parsnip is a funny looking thing. I’m sure it was delicious though.

  6. kitsapfg says:

    Oh yum! Fresh berries and the combo of strawberries and blueberries just cannot be beat.

Leave a Reply

