Thursday Kitchen – Salmon and Asparagus Salad

This salad called my name as soon as I stumbled across it last week.  I had picked up some of our favourite Yarra Valley Caviar salmon fillets from the farmer’s markets.  The fish is gorgeous with that oiliness that salmon has, making it a perfect fish for a salad (in my opinion).  On that same visit I had bought asparagus and snow peas, the other key ingredients of the salad, although I had yet to find the recipe when I bought these items.  And so with all this in the fridge it just seemed like I was meant to make this salad.  Is there anything better than finding a new recipe that you can whip up on the spot without having to make a trip to the shops for the missing ingredients?

The recipe was found in a pile of magazines that a friend passed on to me months ago.  They have been sitting on the coffee table ever since waiting for me to find a minute to go through them.  I don’t know what inspired me to open them that day, but it was perfect timing.  The recipe is quick, fresh and incredibly tasty.

IMG_0252

 

Ingredients:
400g skinless, boneless salmon fillets (I used two fillets which was more than enough.  I also cooked it with the skin on and then flaked the flesh off the skin)
1 bunch asparagus, ends trimmed
100g snow peas, topped
400g can cannellini beans (rinsed and drained)
125g brie cheese, cut into wedges (I didn’t include this thinking it was a bit much for a dinner.  I didn’t think it needed the brie, but Mr Good thought brie could only make things better, so I will leave that one up to you).

Dressing
1 1/2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
pinch of sugar
2 tsp finely chopped dill (I’m not a fan of dill so I substituted parsley)
1 tsp Dijon mustard

Pre heat the over to 180C or 160C with a fan.  Line an oven tray with baking paper, place the fillets on the paper and cover with another sheet of baking paper.  Bake for 10 minutes  or until just cooked.  I tend to like my salmon slightly more cooked than chefs would do it so I left it in for about 12 minutes.  Set aside until cool enough to handle.

Place the asparagus and snow peas in a heat proof bowl, cover with boiling water.  Let it stand for about 1 minute then drain and plunge into iced water, leaving it then for a minute or two.  Drain and pat dry.

If the asparagus is thick, slice in half length ways (mine was super thin so I skipped this step) and do the same for the snow peas.  Flake the salmon into chucks and arrange it on a platter with the greens.  Scatter over the cannellini beans and the brie (if using).

To make the dressing combine all the ingredients in a screw top jar, give it a good shake.  Add some seasoning to taste then drizzle over the salad.  I actually left the parsley out and scattered that over the salad before adding the dressing.

Thumbs up all around for this one, especially as salmon is a current favourite with the girls. This one would be making my Top Five main meal salads for sure!

Other things that came out of my kitchen this week included a roasted vegetable and chickpea salad and an impossibly rich chocolate truffle cake to take to work for a birthday morning tea.  The cake was a bit of a disaster in the making of it.  The chocolate sponge like cake just did not rise again (how typical of my sponges!) so when I cut it in half I had two very, very thin discs.  I had planned to fill it with the truffle filling the next evening, but when I arrived home from work I discovered that the children had taken it upon themselves to have a slice, leaving a nice big wedge out of the whole cake.  Not having time or enough ingredients to start again I had to make do.  The truffle filling (which was like a mousse) was quite running so in order to stop it all running off the cake and into the gap I had to make a cardboard barrier.  It sort of worked.  In an attempt to make up for my failings I covered the lot in strawberries.  As it was so rich we didn’t need big slices so even with the missing bit we had enough to go around, but it certainly wasn’t how I had imagined it.

So what’s been happening in your kitchen this week.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday Kitchen – Salmon and Asparagus Salad

  1. Liz says:

    Love your cake story. I would have left out the brie too.

  2. Barbara Good says:

    Yes, well turning up to work with a half eaten cake wasn’t quite the plan. It’s a good thing my colleagues are understanding…. at least I think that’s why they were laughing.

Leave a Reply

