Monday Harvest – 28 January, 2012

Gee these Monday’s come around quickly especially during the holidays.  Sadly that is all about to finish as school goes back tomorrow for teachers.  On a happy note though I had my first bumper harvest this week and here it is…

IMG_0298  IMG_0297

IMG_0236  IMG_0235

In amongst all of this are:

Three spring onions (which I just cut off at the base and they reshoot very quickly)

15 tomatoes and two cherry tomatoes – some will be made into a roasted tomato pasta sauce later in the week

5 onions – these grew quite strangely, but taste fine

3 cucumbers

A small handful of beans

1 corn cob

2 huge zucchini – went into a zucchini slice

1 small but perfect, red and glossy capsicum.

A bunch for basil used in two salads

A bowl of lettuce leaves

A bowl of pak choy used in a beef stir fry.

And to finish with I thought I would share my jungle of a garden with you.

Tomatoes, Eggplant, corn in the back ground and the sunflowers right at the back.

Tomatoes, Eggplant, corn in the back ground and the sunflowers right at the back.

Tomatoes with beans at the back, note the pumpkin vine that has climbed the bean trellis and is about to head over the fence.

Tomatoes with beans at the back, note the pumpkin vine that has climbed the bean trellis and is about to head over the fence.

IMG_0294

Zucchinis and behind them cucumbers – far too many in the bed!

As always Harvest Monday is hosted by Daphne, so for others click on the link.

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Monday Harvest. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Harvest – 28 January, 2012

  1. Liz says:

    Your garden is looking great! Long may the harvests continue!

  2. becky3086 says:

    Your garden may be a jungle but it looks like it is growing pretty good!

  3. Great tip to cut the spring onions off at the base, I’d never thought of doing that before. Did you plant your corn very early or is it just getting lots of sunlight and water? Mine are still very small, I expect it might be another month until they are ready.

    • Barbara Good says:

      This has worked really well for me and gives me a constant supply of spring onions. They reshoot really quickly.
      I actually can’t remember when I planted the corn, but I had heaps of trouble getting the seeds to germinated and had to keep replanting so there all at different stages now. I’ve picked two cobs, the rest seem like a while away and I suspect they haven’t formed the cobs properly. I was thinking about planting another lot for a late harvest now that the kale has come out of the garden.

  4. Andrea says:

    Your garden is looking great and your enjoying tomatoes too!! mine are still a week or two from ripening…………….I’m hoping they will be ok as although we have had plenty of hot (very hot) days last week the nights have been really cold down to 7C. What type of pumpkin have you planted and was that from seed? its looking very healthy.
    Hope your week back at school is a good one.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes. lots of tomatoes coming in, more than we can eat so I’m looking for ways to preserve them. Those cold nights are a bit of a worry with yours, I hope they cope.

      The pumpkin is from the seeds you sent me (the sunflowers are seeds from the flowers from the seeds you sent me – I love that!), French Squash? The vines are running all over the garden and the one pictured it about the head over the fence to the neighbours. They have plenty of pumpkins growing on them too, but some are turning yellow and dropping off before getting very big (too many on the one plant maybe?). Something funny has happened with them though, some of the pumpkins are quite round while others are long like a cucumber. I’ll be interested to see what they look like when they mature.
      First wee of school down and I’m yet to lay eyes on a class full of kids. Between professional learning days, year 7 introductions/assemblies and my days off I managed to avoid any teaching. I’m itching to get into it now.

Leave a Reply

