In the Kitchen…..Grilled Steak, Ratatouille and Saffron Rice

IMG_0404  IMG_0411

I love this time of year when the garden is like having a green grocer in the back yard.  I haven’t bought any vegetables for weeks and even than it was just a bunch of carrots.

Tonight, Valentine’s Day, I made Jamie Oliver’s Grilled Steak, Ratatouille and Saffron Rice with eggplants, zucchini, tomato, red capsicum, parsley and basin from the garden.  This was the first of the Fifteen Minute Meals that I’ve tried and I’ll admit it wasn’t a great one for the kids.  Other than the rice, the rest of the meal wasn’t really to their taste.  But as it was a childcare day and they rarely each much on those days I thought it was the perfect opportunity to cook an adult-centred meal to enjoy on the day of love.  

I’ll confess now we are so NOT into Valentine’s day, so that actually played no part in why I cooked this, I just thought a spicy steak and ratatouille sounded nice and it was.  I have also come to love Jamie’s rice, he does lots of different ones but they are always really  tasty.  This one had saffron, lemon and a pinch of salt cooked in with it, Yum!

I’m joining in here with Veggiegobbler’s Garden Gobbles.

And on a completely different, more political, note I spent this morning with a few other teachers trying to get a message to the powers that be in this state…

 

photo (11)

 

It’s been a frustrating two years trying to resolve our issues with the state government to no avail, but let’s hope the voices of 30,000 teachers might now be heard.  Going to a rally like this makes me proud to be a state school teacher, there are some mighty passionate and impressive teachers in schools all over this state.  If you’re a Victorian and are interested in the issues around education in our state (from a teacher’s union perspective) or want to show your support for teachers check out this site.

If you’re not a Victorian but still interested in supporting public education there was this little report called the Gonski Review a while ago.  Check out this site and sign up if you want to and haven’t already.

And if you’re not in Australia then that is probably all irrelevant and as you thought this was just a cooking post you’re probably wondering how on earth I ended up on this message.  Sorry about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In the Kitchen…..Grilled Steak, Ratatouille and Saffron Rice

  1. I went to the last teachers rally but couldn’t convince my kids to sit through another one this time round! Let’s hope the govt comes to its senses.
    I have the Jamie 30 min meals and really like it – even though lots of it’s meat I just adapt. But I take longer than 30 minutes.

    • Barbara Good says:

      I missed the last one as it was one of the days I have the girls and I couldn’t think of anything worse than trying to keep two little ones amused while all the rigmarole goes on in the meeting. Sadly I don’t think it will make much of a difference with the Govt.

      I too take longer to do Jamie’s meals than the time stated. I find the 30 min meals take me 45 and the 15 min meals take 30, but I reckon that’s pretty good anyway. I also find I just use the side dishes sometimes and cook something different for the meal part. I love the French Peas and the creamed spinach works well with silverbeet.

  2. Andrea says:

    Barb after visiting the market and a couple of organic veggie shops I can’t believe the prices of some things…………………..we are saving so much by growing our own but more importantly its the freshness of what were eating ! some of the veg and fruit on the shelves dont even look very fresh.
    Must confess I haven’t tried any of Jamies recipes so maybe i better get to the libary as I have noticed a lot of your wonderful meals are from his books.

    • Barbara Good says:

      So true Andrea, which market did you make it to. I do find in terms of freshness the farmers market can’t be beaten (except the garden of course) especially for fruit. I can’t go back to eating tasteless fruit from the shops, even Aussie farmers is nothing on the farmers market – though it would be my second choice.

      I was never into Jamie until I got his 30 minute meals book, but I have enjoyed the last few TV series. He seems to have mellowed a bit with age as I couldn’t stand him and his bouncy hypo ways to begin with.

  3. Liz says:

    I hope the government come to their senses soon….if you of course they have any… I have to admit I quite enjoy strike days we spent yesterday at mum & dads and Miss 6 was able to come too which was lovely. Got caught in a huge thunderstorm of the way home – it pelted it down, sadly none of it came to Coburg though.

  4. Barbara Good says:

    Liz, I think it’s pretty safe to say that if the Govt does have any sense they are keeping them well under wraps. Though I have heard talk of people want Jeff Kennett back, argh what a thought. Have people really got that short a memory…. having had a father a teacher during his reign I would be pretty quickly out of the profession if things went down that path again.

    I’ve just watched the second storm in a matter of days pass us by with all the bells and whistles and not a drop of rain. I feel like I’m melting and the plants look as thought they’re trying to tunnel their way back underground.

Leave a Reply

