Monday Harvest – 18 February, 2013

Wow, what a week of harvesting in the Good household.

IMG_0103 IMG_0104

1. Over 6 kilos of tomatoes (most of which went into a batch of tomato sauce, Yum!  I think now I just need to make some home made sausage roll)

2. 3 cucumbers – two Armenian and one Lebanese (which look tiny, but are actually normal sized.

3. 3 zucchinis – two MONSTERS that were hiding at the bottom of the plants and one normal sized.  I think the monsters will be not great to eat, but thought if I peeled them and chopped out any hard bits I could use them for soup – what do you think?

4. A decent handful of beans, mostly purple kings.

5. Four red capsicums (not pictured)

6. 3 cobs of corn (not pictured)

7. Lettuce (not pictured)

8. Herbs – basil, parsley, thyme

And I think for me over 6 kilos of tomatoes in one week is definitely a tomato glut, a situation I have been dreaming of ever since I started gardening and it’s finally happened.  YAY!  On the down side, the plants are now looking extremely dry and sad.  If I get time this week when it’s not too hot I will prune off the dry and dying parts of the plant and see how they respond to that.

As always this collection of posts is hosted by Daphne so go and check out some other harvests from around the world.

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Harvest – 18 February, 2013

  1. Liz says:

    Yay for your tomatoes. I tend to grate the larger zucchinis and use them for things that need it grated. Having said that I am far from a zucchini expert.

  2. Andrea says:

    Congrats on such a wonderful tomato glut!!!! All the effort has finally paid off and I bet your tomato sause will be so tasty. Looks like my tomatoes will be ready to harvest next week while we are on holidays……..what was I thinking !!!!!! I’m so hoping my neighbors will pick and store some for me…….. I made a very easy zucchini/pepper/onion pickles (like bread/butter cucumbers) which are very tasty with cheese and biscuits.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks Andrea, the effort has certainly been worth it this year and the sauce is a definite winner. How frustrating to have you toms ready just when you’re away. I did that last year with my corn. Love the idea of the zucchini pickles. I’ll put it on the list.

  3. leduesorelle says:

    Hurrah indeed for tomato gluts!

  4. alysemae86 says:

    Lovely Tomatoes! if the zucchini is really seedy I would compost, if not just grate it – I have grated and frozen a bunch for soup over Winter.

Leave a Reply

