In the Kitchen…. Corn and Zucchini Fritters

With a crisper full of massive zucchinis I’ve been on the hunt for ways to use them and thankfully despite their impressive size they have proved to be tasty and not woody as I thought they might be.  I also picked the last of my corn and although the overall harvest was small and a bit disappointing (I still have several unformed cobs on the plants but they haven’t pollinated properly) they taste amazing.  So with these two ingredients in the fridge I came up with corn and zucchini fritters using this recipe.

IMG_0414

 

Along with the corn and zucchini in the fritters, I served them with diced tomatoes, lettuce and some of my home-made, home-grown tomato sauce.  The only plant product not from the garden was the avocado which looked beautiful on the outside, but was frustratingly brown on the inside.  The photo would have looked a darn sight better with bright green avocado rather than the khaki colour that you see.

And the verdict…. I LOVED them, the crunchy sweet corn with the soften zucchini and the acidity of the tomatoes and sauce (and the avocado tasted nice despite its appearance).  Mr Good thought they were good, but should have been served along side some MEAT.  Both girls pretty much turned their noses up at them….. is this the first sign of fussiness from Miss One, I sure hope not.

There are some other veggie gobbling recipes here (the fig muffins are on my list thanks to the gift of figs from my neighbours).

This entry was posted in cooking, vegetarian cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In the Kitchen…. Corn and Zucchini Fritters

  1. Liz says:

    My kids are generally good fritter eaters, although that is with the proviso that they don’t know there’s zucchini in them….. I like the idea of putting some in the corn fritters – next time I makes some I’ll do just that.

  2. Sue says:

    Sounds yummy am going to give them a go tonight x

  3. Amy Tong says:

    What a great meal you have there. It’s the best to pick veggies form your own garden and create something scrumptious and you just did it! I wish I have more space in the garden to plate more veggies.

  4. I make these sorts of fritters with my kids often and they love them. We call them veggie pancakes and I use whatever veg I have. I must make my own tomato sauce to go with them.

Leave a Reply

