In the Kitchen….

It’s been a while since I shared some of the output of my kitchen and garden so I’ve got a couple to share this week.

IMG_0453

Pasta Siciliana with garlic, eggplant, capsicum, zucchini, basil and of course tomatoes from the garden.  Also with capers, anchovies and olives from the pantry.  A lovely dish (which would have been even nicer with a bit of chili), except that my anchovies were particularly strong in flavour so I should have been a little more restrained with them.

IMG_0447

 

Gremolata Lamb Salad with parsley and beans from the garden.  And gorgeous lamb backstraps, lemons from Pa’s tree, dijon mustard, pasta and pine nuts.  I have always loved this salad, but this time around I would have been just as satisfied without the meat… my shift to vegetarianism seems to be growing.

We have been having something of a pasta overload recently, generally due to a lack of time and imagination when it comes to organising dinner.  I will have to expand my repertoire and do a bit more meal planning over the coming weeks and months.  But then again I do LOVE pasta.

I’m going to share these also over at VeggieGobblers.

 

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In the Kitchen….

  1. suerawlinson says:

    Your dishes sound lovely – hope you are all well 🙂

  2. I’ve been doing pasta overload too – and for similar reasons. Must get back into the habit of writing a weekly menu plan. Do you ever do this? Works for me. Sounds like you’re still getting lots of goodies from the garden.

    • Barbara Good says:

      You’d think being a working Mum with two pre-schoolers menu planning would be a must, but I’m totally hopeless at it. I try every now and again, but never stick to the plan I make and then end up with stuff in the fridge that doesn’t get used. Generally I like to just go where my fancy takes me, but I’ve decided this must change… it’s just too stressful when you’re feeding kids. I’ve just written up a plan that I think I will share soon… if I can stick to it.

  3. Liz says:

    I love pasta too. It is one of the few meals everyone in the house enjoys – shame I can’t cook it everyday…

  4. Andrea says:

    The Siciliana pasta sounds great……..There’s been a bit too much of pasta and other rich meals here over the holidays so were back to walking everyday and lighter meals.

Leave a Reply

