Harvest Monday – 25 March, 2013

Boy my garden is looking sad and sorry for itself now.  The tomatoes look one step from the grave, the beans are starting to shrivel on the frame and the pumpkin vines are beginning to wither.  However, the capsicum is still going well, the eggplants (planted late in the season) are full of little fruit and loads of flowers and both the zucchini and cucumber seems to be having a second wind.  Unfortunately in our rush to get the house ready to sell and everything else that we’ve been up to for the last few months, I have failed to plant any seeds to replace the dying plants with.  I will put some in over the school holidays and the rest I will buy as seedlings.  It’s a slightly tricky situation given that all going well we will be out of this house by August, so anything that does go in has to be quick growing.  I’m thinking some beetroot, leafy greens and perhaps some snowpeas.  Do you have any other recommendations?

And on to the matter at hand, what has come in from the garden this week?

IMG_0456

 

A bowl of Roma tomatoes – most of which got roasted and made into pasta sauce.

IMG_0458

Half a big bowl of cherry tomatoes – actually I have way more of these than I know what to do with.  Any suggestions?  Perhaps I should just give them away… anyone want cherry tomatoes?

A motley collection of eggplants.

A small handful of beans, perhaps the last for the season.

Two oddly shaped zucchini.

One Lebanese cucumber

One Bay leaf

Handful of parsley

Handful of basil

For more harvest news have a look at Daphne’s blog.

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Harvest Monday – 25 March, 2013

  1. Liz says:

    You could dry your cherry tomatoes. I do mine in the oven – they take about 4 hours on a really slow oven. I keep them in a zip lock bag in the fridge.

  2. Andrea says:

    Oh those Romas look so good…….mine didn’t do very well at all.

  3. Bek says:

    Nice harvest! I wish my tomatoes were still going as well as yours!

  4. Karen says:

    Yummy, I can’t wait to grow and harvest this year!

  5. Karen says:

    Yummy, I can’t wait to grow and harvest this year!

Leave a Reply

