Harvest Monday – 8 April, 2013

I’ve been MIA for a while so it’s nice to be back into the Harvest Monday theme.

In general I’m feeling a little flat and uninspired and the garden is looking like I’m feeling.   A very good friend of mine tragically lost a child the same age as Miss Three and who was probably her closest playmate.  We’re all sad.  Miss Three and I are having lots of quiet cuddles.  I can’t imagine how it would feel as a mother to go through this.

The result has been a break from blogging and not much happening in the garden.  When I did finally venture out this is what I found.

IMG_0464 IMG_0465

Over a kilo of cherry tomatoes

A motley crew of cucumbers

IMG_0466 IMG_0463

Four long eggplants

One MEGA zucchini (the cucumber next to it is a normal sized Lebanese variety)

IMG_0468 IMG_0469

Another collection of more normal sized zucchinis.

Two red capsicums

A handful of green and purple beans

Another three long eggplants

IMG_0470  IMG_0471

Four pumpkins (see the difference between them?  Well they were all grown from seeds from the same packet, not sure what happened there.  I wonder what they will be like inside?)

The last bowl of roma tomatoes (plus a couple of cherry toms as well)

There were also some herbs, parsley, basil, thyme.

In all of this we’re also in the midst of house opens and a constant state of cleaning and tidying so strangers can walk through and hopefully think what a great home it is and maybe buy it from us soon.  I’m finding it quite stressful, of course that could also be because we still don’t know where we’re going to move to.

That’s it from me.  I’ll try blogging a bit more consistently from now, I do enjoy it and I especially love hearing from you and reading others’ blogs and I’m sure there will be plenty of inspiration at Daphne’s this week.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Harvest Monday – 8 April, 2013

  1. Oh that is so sad. My thoughts are with you and all.

  2. Sarai says:

    Poor Miss 3, experiencing a great loss at such a young age. We recently lost a close friends Mum and it was tricky to explain to Miss H. We are thinking of you all.

  3. Liz says:

    Oh I just don’t know quite what to say other than how horribly sad. Like Veggiegobbler my thoughts are with you and your friend.

    Harvest-wise those pumpkins are very cool – could one or two be vogue plants from the compost? Or did they definitely all come from the seed packet? And did you get the seeds from Diggers?

    • Barbara Good says:

      They did all definitely come from the packet of seeds, but the seeds were donated by another gardener from ones they had saved, so perhaps there was a mix up then. The seeds did all look the same though. Anyway, it will be interesting to see what each one tastes like.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that news 😦 Heartbreaking.

  5. Barbie says:

    😦 So sorry to hear of the loss. Prayers for your family and their. peace.

  6. I am so sorry. Terrible tragedy.

  7. michelle says:

    You have had so much to deal with, such a tragic loss and the stress of trying to move. I hope things look up for you soon.

    How odd that you got such a variety of pumpkins from one packet! What were they supposed to be like?

  8. rcra says:

    Very sorry to hear you’re going through such a thing. I hope Miss 3 makes her way through it okay, and you too. Take care xo

  9. Barbara Good says:

    Thank you to everyone for your kind words and thoughts. I have come to realise kids are really amazing creatures. Miss Three has dealt with this great loss with such insight and perceptiveness. She has a knack of expressing how she is feeling in such a poetic and heartfelt way. I love that she just says how she feels when she feels it, has great memories of a wonderful friend and then goes on with her day. When I listen in to the stories she makes up and the songs she sings to herself they’re almost always about her friend or sung for her, like a bond that will not be broken.

Leave a Reply

