Harvest Monday – 22 April, 2013

If you haven’t already noticed I seem to have lost my blogging mojo and as much as I keep saying I’ll get back into it, I’m still struggling and I really don’t know when that will change.  I also have very little in the garden, veggie wise, at the moment as we’re about to go to auction and I haven’t planted out much of a winter crop.  Anyway, here is what I have picked this week…

IMG_0481

A line up of little eggplants… now what to do with them all.

IMG_0482

A good handful of purple beans, the only ones still going.

IMG_0483

1 Red capsicum, still a few green ones on the plant and I’ll leave it in the ground and hope who ever buys this place might get a few next year.

IMG_0484

Three odd shaped zucchini, lots more coming on as well.

I also picked some herbs and spring onions.  I really should start picking my silverbeet which is looking quite magnificent and should see us kept in greens for the rest of our time here.

On a really wonderful note, today is Miss Three’s fourth birthday… so I guess she is now Miss Four (argh, already!).    I thought I’d finish with some photos that I think really show who she is today, as a four year old.

photo(1)

Miss Playdough Head (her first play on words perhaps)

Two cheeky sisters (taken by Miss Three)

Two cheeky sisters (taken by Miss Three)

Self portrait - the 'Surprise Face'

Self portrait – the ‘Surprise Face’

Happy Birthday my girl!

Happy Birthday my girl!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Harvest Monday – 22 April, 2013

  1. Sue says:

    Love to your special beautiful girls – nice to read your post x

  2. fergie51 says:

    Don’t worry about your blogging mojo. I too have felt quite underwhelmed about posting but rest assured this is part of our human cycle. All of a sudden, out of the blue something will re-trigger a spark and you’ll be off and running. I certainly look forward to y ourposts of any nature and you just may unwittingly inspire others! For example, your harvest is massive compared to mine at the moment. I’m impressed! You have a Miss 4, wow, we are now officially empty nesters and I’m not too sure (as cocky as I was about the prospect) that it is all that great. I was determined that my job was to prepare the kids to enter their own world confidently and be able to survive independently, now that has happened it is a proud but fuzzy moment. Enjoy every step of their journey and keep recording it! Cheers.

  3. Barbie says:

    Happy birthday Miss3 – errr 4!!! Nice harvest… that is quite the haul of eggplant. Parmesean perhaps? Good luck! LOL

  4. Andrea says:

    Life is Busy ! don’t work too hard Mrs Good………….hope your finding a little bit of me time!
    Great harvest, maybe you could try marinating the eggplant ?

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, busy is the word for it absolutely Andrea. As for me time, its been a LONG time, maybe sometime soon.
      Hmmm, marinating eggplant, sound interesting, have you got more details?

  5. Liz says:

    Happy Birthday Miss 4! I love her self portraits. Great that you are still getting beans, mine gave up a while back. Hope the auction goes well!

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Great harvest, will be a while before I am harvesting from the garden, nighttime temp is still in the 30’s. Here is a eggplant recipe you may like. Substitute your fresh chili for the chili sauce.:
    http://gardentowok.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/spicy-ping-tung/
    Happy birthday Miss 4. I too love her self portrait.

  7. kitsapfg says:

    I am down to blogging just once a week, because to be honest I am just not feeling interested in putting in more time than that to my blog at the moment. I know it is a function of my work being a bit all consuming right now, and my violin practice time is encroaching on time I used to spend blogging – but honestly, this is just where I am right now. If my writing mojo gets switched on again, then I will immerse myself in it once again, until then I keep up the discipline of a weekly blog post, but am not going to push for more than that.

    Your daughters are just darling. 😀

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, I seem to have several competing interests eating up my blogging time, but I do miss it. I guess I should be thankful that I have a job I love so spending time on that is usually a pleasure (though I am so sick of marking work, wish I could pay someone to do that). And at least now I don’t have to keep the house so insanely clean and tidy. Hope my mojo comes back soon, in the meantime I’ll do what I can manage.

  8. Love your purple beans and eggplants!

    Happy Birthday Miss Four!

Leave a Reply

