Peanut Caramel Squares

I’ll start by stating that this is not my recipe, but I have no idea where it came from.  It’s one of those photocopied recipes that was stuck in my recipe folders years ago.  Obviously if I knew where it was from I would openly give credit to them, as it is I’ll just say thanks whoever you are, this was great.

IMG_0043

Peanut Caramel Squares

125g butter
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 egg yolk
1 cup plain flour
1/4 cup self raising flour
2 tablespoons custard powder

Topping
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon golden syrup
90g butter, chopped
1 cup unsalted roasted peanuts, chopped (I used half peanuts and half cashews)

Beat the butter, sugar and egg yolk in a small bowl with an electric beater until smooth.  Sift the flours and custard powder and stir into the butter mixture.  Press evenly into the base of a greased 19cmx29cm rectangular slice pan (I used a standard lamington tray and it was a good size).  Bake in a moderate oven for about 20 minutes or until lightly browned.  Stand for five minutes to cool slightly and then spread with the hot topping.  (For me I thought there wasn’t going to be enough topping, but it does spread out and you only need a thin layer over the base.)  Bake in a moderate oven for a further 5 minutes.  Cool in the tray.

Topping: Combine sugar, golden syrup and butter in a medium pan.  Stir over heat until butter is melted.  Bring to the boil, simmer, stirring, about 3 minutes or until mixture darkens and thickens slightly.  Stir in the nuts (I whizzed these for a couple of seconds in the mini processor which gave me some really fine nuts and some chunky ones – I liked this but you may not)

NOTE:  I made no real adjust to the recipe when I made it, but I did find base slightly dry and crumbly, but also light thanks to the bit of self raising flour.

Jenny, I hope this satisfies the ‘handyman’ taste tester.

This entry was posted in cooking, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Caramel Squares

  1. becky3086 says:

    These do look wonderful but I have no idea what custard powder is 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      I assume you’re not Australian… custard powder is a powder used to make an easy, quick version of custard that you only need to add milk and sugar to and heat slowly. It this dish it just adds a slightly vanilla flavour to the base. Perhaps you could substitute some vanilla sugar and maybe add a bit more flour.

Leave a Reply

