Other people’s family favourite recipes….

A couple of weeks ago I thought it would be interesting to start a bit of a recipe swap to add to my own repertoire of family friendly meals and to share some of my own.  I got three recipes from others, one from Heidi and two from Jenny.

I’ve since tried them all and can attest to their deliciousness across the board.  Unfortunately they were not all taken to by the fussy four year old, but she was the only one who felt that way.

First cab off the rank was was Jenny’s mini pizzas (have a look in the comments section for the recipe).  It was a very easy recipe and highly adaptable.  I added mushrooms to ours and topped mine and Mr Good’s with hot salami – yum!.  I really liked that everything was chopped up, mixed in together with the egg and then spread over whatever it was you liked.  In this case I used regular sandwich bread, but I think Jenny’s suggestion of sour dough (hopefully I’ll have some of my own later in the week) or English muffins would be great as well.

IMG_0179

 

The second recipe was Heidi’s hearty baked rigatoni, another fast and fabulous dinner and one that is versatile to boot.  Heidi mentioned she often added cooked chicken or spinach, both which I think would be excellent additions.  I opted for my standard mix of grated carrot and zucchini to keep it vegetarian but also hide a lot of those vegetables.  Both kids enjoyed this one, but Miss Two just about inhaled her plate she was so taken with it.  She also very quickly nabbed her sister’s leftovers and finished those off as well.  One point for me though was that this is pretty heavy on the cheese (ricotta, mozzarella and parmesan) which makes it very yummy but not so good if you’re a little bit diary intolerant as I am.  I tried to be restrained and only have a small serving…. though it didn’t stop me finishing off the left overs for lunch the next day.

IMG_0186

And the final recipe was Jenny’s pumpkin and feta fritters, yum yum!  I mixed the mashed pumpkin with some sweet potato (check the comments again for this recipe).  The sweetness of the the pumpkin and sweet potato with the saltiness of the feta was great and I added lots of parsley for freshness.  I served it with a simple crisp salad.  This was probably my favourite of the three recipes, but the one I had the most trouble getting the girls to eat.  That’s not so much a reflection of the dish (though Miss Four is generally not interested in eating pumpkin) but more because of having a big lunch and Miss Four sneaking off at 5.30pm with a packet of rice snacks.  I got so cross about this that I made her sit in the chair until she had finished an entire (but small) fritter.  It too over an hour and involved a LOT of whining, crying, screaming, procrastinating and attempted negotiation from her before she finally realised that for once I was actually going to make her eat.  Whether this backfires on me later or works in my favour I’m not sure.  But once ensconced in a battle of wits with a four year old it is important to win!  Miss Two declared them as ‘nummy’, and ate a most of hers.  I think she would wolf them down on a night where she is generally hungier as the flavours are right up her alley.

IMG_0196

I’m thinking my next theme will be budget busting recipes, so if you’ve got some super cheap dinners I’ll be asking for them in a couple of weeks.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Other people’s family favourite recipes….

  1. If it helps, my picky eaters are now 10 and 12 and have expanded their tastes dramatically – they not only try new things, but they like it. The 10 year old still has a few things she won’t eat, but the big kid would eat anything that doesn’t move. It gets easier.

    The rigatoni is pretty heavy on the cheese. Sometimes I put a little less in it, but the cheese is probably why it’s a crowd favourite and one of the reasons that I am not the same size I was 18 years ago.. 🙂 I tend to go for a smaller portion with a side salad. The older kid will eat the salad, the small one will not.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Heidi, I’m SO pleased to hear that it gets better! The cheese was definitely an appealing factor for Miss Two, she LOVES cheese. Smaller with salad is an excellent options, plus both kids actually enjoy salad.

  2. renlikesred says:

    They all sound delicious! The mini pizzas especially would go down a treat here 🙂
    This one is a family favourite of ours but for especially fussy ones maybe just brush skewers with honey and a few of their favourite veggies.
    http://renlikesred.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/lamb-and-vegetable-skewers-with-cumin-and-lemon/

  3. Such a great idea for a post!

Leave a Reply

