Lemon Walnut Pasta

IMG_0242

A while back I found a recipe for lemon walnut pasta on Pinterest (where else?) and promptly added it to my cooking board.  It has since been one of my most re-pinned pins.  And why wouldn’t it be, simple, great flavours and fresh.  Then I came across the parmesan and herb walnuts at the Daylesford Farmers’ Market and I thought they would go perfectly in this dish.  They did!

IMG_0246

This isn’t exactly the most kid-friendly meal but by picking the nuts (or at least the bigger ones) out of the girls bowls they were happy to eat the lemony-cheesy pasta with a little extra olive oil and lots of parsley.  On the plus side this was all done in the time it took to cook the pasta.

I love these simple two or three key ingredient pasta dishes and have pinned LOTS of them.  So I’m sure I’ll be sharing more with you soon, especially as the weather warms up.

As an aside if you are looking for a super-dooper kid-friendly meal, try Ren’s lamb skewers with lemon and cumin.  A new family favourite here too and I can’t wait to try out her variations.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lemon Walnut Pasta

  1. Liz says:

    It looks kind of like a deconstructed walnut pesto which can’t be a bad thing.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Very observant Liz, I hadn’t thought of it like that but is exactly like that. I think in this instance the big chunky nuts were the best part. And there’s lots of lemon (zest and juice).

  2. renlikesred says:

    I repinned this from you! It truly sounds delicious. Will definitely try it! So glad you liked the lamb skewers. Hopefully the kids did too! Threading them is the only time consuming part really but so simple and yummy 🙂
    Also, one of the points I made in the lost reply to your blog about blogging, was that I love the way you’ve organised your recipe section in the revamp as there’s lots I have missed that sound delicious!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yep, the kids liked the skewers too, the little one more than the big one as always, but no melt downs from the big one so that counts as a win…. our standards are pretty low. I loved threading them, I like anything I can make matching, silly I know. Also Miss Four help with some of the threading and she loved it.

      Glad you liked the new recipe page. It took quite a while, but was worth it. There were lots of recipes I’d forgotten about as well and I’m glad you found it useful.

  3. andreamynard says:

    Looks lovely. I have a bowl of green walnuts that we picked on a walk last week and keep meaning to try them in a River Cafe walnut pasta sauce that you’ve just reminded me about.

  4. Melanie-Jade in Melbourne says:

    I make parsley pesto with walnuts, parsley, lemon zest, parmesan and olive oil as I always have an abundance of parsley in the garden. I freeze it in ice cube trays so I always have some on hand. The kids love pesto spaghetti, and it has become our version of Friday “take-away” when I don’t feel like cooking. I defrost a few cubes, loosen the pesto with a spoonful or two of the pasta cooking water, then stir it through spaghetti. Much quicker than driving down to the shops for fish and chips and healthier too! We also put it on home made pizzas. I loved reading your post about MamaBake, sounds like a wonderful idea. Maybe you could add pesto to your list of recipes to make together, and it’s a no-cook recipe too!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, I too make pesto, with either basil or parsley. It certainly does make an easy dinner, though my eldest daughter doesn’t like the green. She’s a fussy eater. I’ll certainly suggest it pesto for the mamabake. No cook is perfect.

Leave a Reply

