Date Slice from the CWA

I’ve been poring over pictures of the knitting and crochet displays at the Royal Melbourne Show lately, admiring the neatness of the work, the intricate designs and the stunning colour pallets with great envy.  Of course it has been the crocheted granny square blankets that most caught my eye, I really just love them and wish I could work faster and had more time to do my own.  In reality I’ve lost a bit of motivation for my current project.  I think I need to do a quick one from my new crochet pattern book and then get back to the bigger one with a fresh mindset (does that happen to anyone else?).  Okay, I’m getting side tracked.  All this crochet and show talk got me hunting down my CWA cook book and a bit of old school slice making, perhaps not worthy of entering into a show, but inspired by those that do.

There’s been a run of slices gracing our kitchen recently, mostly thanks to an oven that needs fixing, so non-bake options have been the go.  Well, the oven has been looked at, tinkered with, declared fixed and then shorted out the electricity with the very first use.  It’s still on the blink, I’m waiting for another new element, but in the mean time I can use one setting.  It’s not reliable, the temperature varies wildly and you have to watch whatever you put in it like a hawk.  But I braved all this and made a date slice.  It was the first absolutely perfectly baked item that has come out of this oven to date (get it?) and was only possible because Mr Good has been working from home for a few days so occupied the girls for me briefly.

It is delicious!  We love dates, that helps.

IMG_0290

 

CWA Date Slice

2 cups self-raising flour
1 cup brown sugar
145g butter, chilled and chopped
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon baking power
1 cup chopped dates (I blitzed them in the mini food processor for a minute or so)

Icing (This was supposed to be coffee icing, I substituted 1/4 coffee essence for the cocoa and added a little extra milk)
1 1/2 cup icing sugar
2 tablespoon cocoa
10g butter, softened
2 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 180C.  grease and flour a slice tin.  Place the flour and brown sugar in a bowl and then rub in the butter using the tips of your fingers until well combined and crumbly.  Place half of this mixture into the slice tin and press down firmly.

Mix the egg, milk and baking powder together.  Add the chopped dates, stir to combine and then pour this into the second half of the flour mixture.  Stir until well combined and then pour over the base mixture already in the tin.  Bake in the preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.

For the icing combine all the ingredients until smooth.  Spread over the cooked and cooled slide and refrigerate until set.

Apparently this slice freezes really well, but ice if after you thaw it out again.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Date Slice from the CWA

  1. Oh my. My Nanna used to bake slices for whenever we ame to visit her (north of Wagga in NSW) and date slice was one she always made for me as I love dates. Id have to tinker with it these days as we eat no processed sugars and I am intolerant of wheaten products but oh I shall dream of date slice tonight for sure.

Leave a Reply

