Seeds, seeds, glorious seeds…. and a cheeky harvest Monday

Another top day weather wise here and with both girls almost fully recovered from horrid viruses we were back to our usual activities.  Out this morning to Mainly Music (highly recommended if you’re looking for easy, inexpensive organised activities for little ones) and then an afternoon playing tea parties and planting, planting, planting.  There was little rhyme or reason to what got planted where, I’m not sure where all of it will go or if I’ve left it to late to plant some of the seeds, but encouraged by the response to yesterday’s post I decided to just go with it.

IMG_0305  IMG_0307

I’m using a variety of seed raising containers including some strawberry/cherry tomato punnets, egg cartons and standard seed raising tray.  Labeling has been a bit ad hoc, so it will be interesting to see how I organise these into the garden beds when the time is right.  In fact the whole planting process was a bit disorganised with both Miss Two and Miss Four helping…. things got a bit tense a couple of times!

IMG_0308  IMG_0306

 

 

I had some flower seeds planted earlier in the green tray, but my greenhouse blew over twice in the wind before Mr Good secured it with rope in it’s current position against the garage.  Who knows what is where in that tray now.  I also have rosemary and sage cuttings taken from my old garden in the pots at the back (you can just see them behind the big pot in front.

The seeds I planted included:
Lettuce
Rocket
Corn
Thyme
Parsley
Basil
Zucchini
Cucumber
Pumpkin (I’ve not had much luck in the past and they take up so much room I’m not really sure where I’m going to put these)
Beans (three kinds)
Tomato (three kinds)
Eggplant
Capsicum
Leeks (after yours looked so good Ren)

And a mixture of flowers in the last seed tray (marigolds, cosmos and a few others I’ve already forgotten)

I also did a bit of spring cleaning of my pots, pulling out weeds and replanting more spring onions and parsley.  It was in doing this that I had my first harvest in nearly three months

/IMG_0309

 

How do you think this will do divided by four?  It’s a potato about the size of a very small egg found in a pot I grew spuds in last year.

And in all my excitement of seed planting I decided it was time to do something out the front.  We have yet to erect the additional garden beds out there so I still only have the long narrow one in front of the fence which is home to seven rose bushes.  This is also where I’ve been burying my kitchen scraps each week.  I had a dig in the furthest two sections where the compost was buried about two and a bit months ago to check on how the decomposition process was going and besides from a couple of little potato peels and an egg shell everything was gone.  So time to plant out each roughly 1m section.

The first section got flowers (probably way too many as is my habit), a collection of zinnias, phlox, alyssum, nasturtium, marigolds and portulaca.  I will thin and transplant if there is a crazy amount of growth going on, but I’m hoping for a real hit of colour.  The next section got two types of beetroot.  I only planted one row at the back and will plant some more at the front in a couple of weeks to spread the harvests out a bit.

When I had a poke around in the next section there were still some clumps of fairly in tact kitchen scraps.  I spread these out a bit more and covered them in dirt again and will give it another couple of weeks before I plant in this section.  I’m thinking some rainbow chard.

The process of simply collecting my kitchen scraps and burying them in the garden every couple of days or every week, depending on how much we have and how much goes to the worms, has really worked well while we don’t have a better compost system.  The soil is looking really great where the scraps have already broken down.

Once everything was planted I gave all the seeds a big drink with some diluted worm wee and voila, a happy garden and a happy gardener!  Oh and my lemon/lime, which is covered in flowers, is looking a bit under the weather with curled and yellowing leaves.  I fed it some citrus feed a few weeks ago, just after we moved in the hope that it would right itself but it hasn’t.  I’ve tried some iron chilates this morning for the yellowing, but not sure about the curl.  There doesn’t appear to be any pests/insects on it.  I’m thinking it been too wet, we have had a lot of rain.  Any ideas?

And that brings me to the end of another very pleasing garden post and the first Harvest Monday for quite sometime (a little cheeky I know given it was one little accidentally found potato, but hey I’m going with it).  There is something about getting my hands in the dirt that feeds my soul, I have so missed it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seeds, seeds, glorious seeds…. and a cheeky harvest Monday

  1. That potato totally counts!
    I think a photo of the sad citrus would help, but curled leaves in my experience have always meant root rot.
    Would you believe that I used to run a Mainly Music group? It’s loads of fun 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks L, but I sure hope you’re prediction about the citrus doesn’t prove right. I bet it was fun running a mainly music group. My girls do a dance class too, but they seem to get more out of this one (and it’s a lot cheaper!). I love it cos someone makes me a cup of tea and brings me a piece of cake, it’s the only time all week that happens!

  2. GrafixMuse says:

    Yes! The potato so counts! I am glad to have found your blog via Daphne’s Dandelions.

  3. renlikesred says:

    Good work! You’ve inspired me to get some more seeds going 🙂

  4. renlikesred says:

    Love the photo of the potato by the way!

  5. Jenny Pearson says:

    Hi Barbara, just before I go out into my garden to do a bit of maintenance, thought I would not only say yes I agree that getting dirt under your fingernails is the most wonderful feeling – that’s right no gloves, can’t abide the things, besides you can’t “feel” the soil if you wear them! I wish you luck in your growing, nothing beats that feeling of finding little green things coming up everywhere, and all due to your hard work. Now on another note, if you still want to have chickens in your garden the ABC magazines include one Gardening Australia Backyard Chickens, has everything you need to know about chickens for the backyard, including how to build a chook tractor for $10.95 this may be helpful to you for the future, but as always, you are more than welcome to ask me directly anytime I can help.

    • Barbara Good says:

      I work mostly without gloves too Jenny, I can’t seem to manage to do what I want with them on. Though pruning the roses and digging put the darned rocks from the garden beds are two job that definitely warrant wearing gloves. I can’t wait for my little seedlings to pop their heads through.

      I have got that magazine, Mr Good bought it for me when we signed all the paperwork for the new house – what a man! He’s checked out the chook tractor too, I haven’t got past the pages on all the different breeds, I want them all! I you can be sure when the time comes I will be wanting lots of advice in person!

  6. Jo says:

    Lemons will always yellow and curl up a bit through a cold winter. Mine do every year here in Tas, but they always survive! Each season I put dynamic lifter and blood and bone around the roots (don’t grow anything under citrus, including grass – they have very shallow roots), and in spring, iron chelates and trace elements. As soon as it is sunny, and when they are well fed, the leaves should green up. Happy gardening!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh thank goodness for you Jo, I was getting mighty worried about my gorgeous citrus friend. They certainly did curl after moving to Ballarat and it is a LOT colder here. Mine is a dwarf that lives in a pot so nothing growing under her. I’ve just added some iron chilates and will give her a feed with blood and bone soon too, that might keep her happy. Thanks for the advice!

  7. Andrea says:

    Sounds like a very productive day and tea parties are so much fun!! Its amazing how a day of sunshine and digging in dirt can calm the mind, well it always works for me , and of course bonfires work well too but maybe not in the streets of Ballarat!!!
    Now I didn’t see sunflowers on your list, would you like some more seeds? and I also have Tuscan Kale seedlings, oregano and thyme if you would like.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Gardening certainly calms my mind Andrea. Bonfires sound great, but I’m not sure the neighbours or the council would appreciate it. Actually perhaps that would be a good way to meet the neighbours? I wish! Sunflowers are on the list, not quite sure where yet, perhaps just dotted around between everything else. I’ve saved seeds each year (two I think) since you sent me your seeds and I’ve given them away to lots of people, so your sunflowers have grand-babies all over the northern suburbs of Melbourne and else where. The Tuscan kale, oregano and thyme sounds great, I would love to add those to my garden. You’re so kind to offer.

Leave a Reply

