Monday Harvest – 28 October, 2013

I’m still struggling and scraping to get a harvest post in and obviously it’s not yet an every week thing, but I do have a few things to add today.  Not all are from my own plants, but they are all home grown.

Firstly is a bowl full of citrus.  Most of the lemons are from my Grandfather, with two being given to me by my neighbour along with a jar of home made strawberry jam (yum!) in exchange for Mr Good fixing our shared side fence.  The oranges came from Mum and Dad’s tree.  I’m planning another batch of lemon/orange cordial as my store cupboard is nearly empty.

IMG_0350

Secondly is some herbs.  Parsley from both my garden and Mum’s (she could supply the whole state I think!).  Mint from my own garden which I discovered when I was weeding – how wonderful!  It’s growing in a garden bed I’ve been clearing to plant some fuschias.  Obviously it will probably take over if left there so as soon as I get a chance I will dig it up and put it in a pot, but it looks very healthy and I’m super excited to have fresh mint to pick at will.  And something I always forget, bay leaves from my lovely little potted bay tree.

Can you see the mint among the weeds?

Can you see the mint among the weeds?

IMG_0351 IMG_0353

Lastly I picked a few more spring onions.  I’m using more than I have growing so I’ve planted more seeds and they’ve starting coming up too.  I have had to move to pot to the top of the BBQ to stop Miss Two pulling them all out every other day though, so I hope they survive.

IMG_0352

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Harvest – 28 October, 2013

  1. Liz says:

    I don’t reckon that mint is as invasive as is often suggested – or perhaps that should read I don’t always find it invasive enough, but then I do like using it an awful lot…..

  2. Healthy mint is such a win – mine always struggles for water. I hope your baby onions survive 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Well I dug up the mint and put it in a pot this afternoon so I hope it stays healthy. I’m sure I didn’t get it all so it will probably keep popping up in that garden bed. And I too hope the baby onions survive. Miss Two was found digging in another pot this afternoon, oh the joys of two year olds!

  3. Michelle says:

    I barely get enough mint to keep me happy. My best plant is in a pot, the one in the ground struggles to survive, probably from a lack of water and really bad soil.

    Spring is such a difficult time in the garden – so much promise but so little to harvest. I’m sure you’ll be harvesting all sorts of goodies in no time – just about the time my garden goes kaput!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Well I hope my mint likes its new pot and does well for me.

      Yes Spring is tough, so much to do but not too many immediate rewards. Mind you I’m just starting from scratch with a new garden (and a new house) so there’s lots and lots of work to do and nothing really to pick. I was looking out at my new garden beds last night trying to imagine what that scene will look like in a few months when things are growing and looking good, rather than just meters of bare soil. I can’t wait.

  4. That stickyweed you’ve got around your mint could also be added to the harvest list if you like. 🙂 Sticky weed can be made into a tea that is one of those general heath tonics I believe. I’ve not tried it, only read up on it though. I have gardenbeds and “lawns” ful of the horrid stuff so I have no excuse.

    Your spring onions are fantastic too. I recently replanted the roots from some I’d eaten and they’re sprouting again. Instead of pulling them out I plan to cut them off just above ground level and leave the roots to reshoot fresh spring onions. I also planted more seed too. 🙂

    Love your lemon and jam swap for fixing the fence. Are you aware of the produce swap at the Community Gardens in Ballarat (http://ballaratcommunitygarden.org.au/) held each month. The next one is this Saturday. 🙂

    Love your bay tree too. Are they aromatic to walk past? I realy must add a bay tree to my gardens. One day.

    • Barbara Good says:

      That darned sticky weed is the one Miss Four reacts to, it makes her arms and hands ache if she touches it or brushes past it. Annoyingly it’s all through the grass as well. But I spent and hour and a half pulling is all out of that garden bed this afternoon and what I could out of the lawn. Now I just have both sides of the house and the front garden bed to go.

      I too just cut off the spring onions at the base and let them reshoot. These ones have been going for months and have been cut countless times, though the constant pulling out and replanting thanks to Miss Two has not helped them.

      Thanks for the tip on the community garden swap, can’t say I have much to offer as a swap at the moment but I will certainly have a look and keep it in mind for future.

      • Even if you don’t have swappables, once they get to a certain stage, people usually donate their surplus (who wants to take home again what you’ve likely got in glut) and then you can purchase those bits cheaply, the money raised goes to the gardens. And most things are swappable. I’ve swapped chickens (pre arranged with a friend but still), sourdough starter, seeds and seedlings have been swapped, extra potted plants, cuttings, herbs tomato tie things, worm wee, etc. If it’s garden based even loosely or like the sourdough connected to the gardening lifestyle only by its lifestyle then it’s good. 🙂
        If you plan to go let me know and I’ll pop up too. Even with nothing to swap at all it’s a lovely social opportunity. 2 hours with like-minded locals is always fun. 🙂

  5. Jo says:

    Try making Israeli Lemonade, which is mint, sugar and lemon juice whizzed up together, it is delicious!

  6. Norma Chang says:

    Oh, how I would love to have some home grown tree ripened citrus. Tried growing a bay tree in pot once but was unsuccessful. It did not like the indoor winter environment.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, well my own citrus tree is not much of a producer so it’s nice to have family and friends to rely on in that department. And I can image the bay not being happy inside, thankfully mine is quite content in its pot on our deck.

Leave a Reply

