Garden Share Collective – December

Another month has past and it is time for the December Garden Share Collective hosted by Lizzie from Strayed from the Table.  Time to tour the veggie patch once more and share the happenings in this part of the veggie growing world.

TheGardenShareCollective300pix

In happy news we had two warm days – sadly not the day my sister got married! – and it actually started to feel like summer rather than the extended winter we have had recently.  Of course it didn’t last and the days that followed were back to low-mid teens and raining.  Though I did like that bit, it saved me all the watering.

It has taken me some getting used this new and much colder climate that we’ve moved to, but I’ve realised now that much of what I put in over the last few months was just biding it’s time until the soil warmed up.  I had written lots of things off that are only now starting to come through.

The spuds which I had lost all hope of are absolutely flourishing and will need mounding up as soon as I find the time.  I thought there was no hope of these coming good considering they were really old spuds I grew at our last place and never got to eating, I put them in the ground too early when it was still really cold and then the dog slept on the bed for a couple of weeks before Mr Good got the cage around them.  It just goes to show you can’t keep a good spud down!

IMG_0474

My greens bed which has silverbeet, lettuce, pak choy and rocket in it has all started shooting but growth has been very slow.  Once these take off a bit more I’ll plant out the gaps that are sure to be there.

The corn has started coming through in the last week or so.  Again this was a crop I had written off.  I planted about 20 seeds and I’ve only seen about 7 or 8 shoots so I hope a few more come through soon so the harvest is a little bigger.  I’m thinking of popping a pumpkin seed in the middle if there is a big gap.

See that tiny corn plant in there?

See that tiny corn plant in there?

The cucumber is going well but is still really small.  I also think he needs a mate and there’s room next to him so I’ll pop in another couple of seeds and see what happens.  The radishes at the end of this bed were going really well – one of the few plantings that didn’t keep me in suspense – until the snails found them.  I’ve still got a few but will replant between then soon.  Along the back of this bed I’ve got a row of sunflowers which have taken an age to come up but now there are plenty of them.

Row of sunflowers

Row of sunflowers

The next bed over I planted out some tomato, capsicum and eggplant seeds straight into the ground and a few of those have come up.  But they are so tiny it is still touch and go whether they survive.  I’ve also put in a couple of new tomato seedlings (from Skud) mostly cherry tomato varieties.

IMG_0481

At the end of this same bed is two zucchinis which are growing nicely and around the corner of the L is a pumpkin, tiny and just hanging on to life – his mate died.  More seeds will need to go in there too.  In the corner of the L we have an old tree stump which I have planted red runner beans around.  These are coming along nicely and I’m hoping to grow them up around the stump.  Time will tell if that will work or not.

IMG_0480

IMG_0478

The little strawberry bed is going really well – except for one plant at the eat end of the bed which is looking dried out and sad.  I gave it a big water and some worm wee and will hope it perks up.  This bed needs to be netted soon as there are flowers and fruit on most of the plants and I don’t feel like sharing these with the birds!

IMG_0482

The final little bed in front of the shed has been replanted with tomato seedlings, after three of the first four died.  It also had stringless green beans growing behind the tomatoes.  I put in seeds of red runner beans where a few of the green beans dies.  There’s also a few lettuces growing between the tomatoes.

IMG_0483 IMG_0484

In pots I have basil, more lettuce, parsley, mint, bay, blueberries, and hopefully coriander if it ever grows.

Tiny wee basil plants in a pot.

Tiny wee basil plants in a pot.

Given that this is a very new garden we’re not really harvesting anything yet besides some parsley, mint and spring onions.  But I’m dreaming (literally) about sweet strawberries and cherry tomatoes, zucchinis, crunchy cucumbers and all the rest.

And the to do list is long, but foremost on that list is finishing the garden paths so we have better access to the beds without having to kneel in the mud.  Also given that we will be away for the first two weeks of December I’m trying to prepare the garden for a lack of watering to come (and I’m praying for a couple of days rain while we’re gone).  I’m going to fill the paddling pools with water and put the pots into them.  The beds will get a big drink before we head off and will be mulched.  And then I guess it’s just hope they all pull through.

When we get back it will be a mad rush to get things looking nice for Christmas as we’re having all of Mr Good’s family at our place.  Also a whole lot of planting to fill the gaps and to ensuring we have something to harvest coming into the Autumn.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Garden Share Collective – December

  1. Looking good! Its great to see the progress in the garden at the very beginning. Plants do grow in four weeks. I hope you get some more corn up too.

  2. I’ve had similar trouble with my seeds too. It’s been so up and down with the weather it must confuse the hell out of seeds. Summer, winter, spring, winter and summer again for these 4 days then back to winter again on Wednesday and we’ll have the fire lit Thursday morning I suspect. What’s with 5C?!
    I’ve harvested 1/2 of my garlic which is probably nearly a years supply there already and the other half I suspect will be ready in a few more weeks. I’m watching the last of my purple sprouting broccoli, 80% of which I’m just waiting for the plants to start dying so I can harvest the seeds. 18% is in flower which the chooks and goats will score and I still get a small handful of sprouts every week or so. I’ve got leeks and an onion in bud so I’m waiting for them to flower and go to seed. The other onions I’m just waiting for their tops to die off and I’ll hang them int he shed to dry. I’ve got very few. The leeks we harvest as we need.
    I’m still picking broad beans and I have heaps that are yet to bean up as they’re still flowering now but if they don’t hurry I’ll have to chop them and make do with what we’ve harvested. I’m desperate for that bed for tomatoes, the seedlings which are desperately in need of repotting.
    We’re also harvesting the occasional strawberry, the last of the peas that grew from the pea straw are done. I’ve got 30+ pumpkin plants and spuds up everywhere too. The ones int he greenhouse need hilling and so do the ones int he crates. I’ve got them just sprouting in the hugel out front.
    My salsify is flowering and seeding, my beans make it no firther than breaking ground before being decimated by snails, my radishes, carrots, spring onions and co are growing well as are my parsnips. I’ve got a few more peas sprouting but i think it’s too warm for them to do well.
    My water chestnut is up but that’s a way off and my water hawthorn is in bloom. I’ll not harvest that until winter or next year though. Lots happening and with summer here (on the calendar at least) I eagerly await what the season brings.

  3. Wow, you’ve got so much going on in there! It’s going to be fantastic and abundant once it gets going 🙂

  4. Louie says:

    Great idea to grow the beans around the stump, I hope it works well for you. You have also given me hope that the seeds I planted a few weeks ago may still appear 🙂

  5. Gardens looking fabulous! Especially that strawberry bed! Shame about the weather on your sisters wedding. its always Murphy’s Law!

  6. fergie51 says:

    Gotto get onto that collective thing! Sounds like a great idea. You, like me are in the territory of taking learned experience into a new landscape which doesn’t necessarily perform as you would expect. Looks like things are going great guns, good job! It is such a lovely feeling when things come together and you reap the rewards.

  7. It is always a little nervewracking going away but i hope your garden looks lovely on your return.

  8. Pingback: Garden Share Collective, December 2013

Leave a Reply

