A Journey of Discovery – Part One

Well, we’re home, we’re relaxed and getting back to the day to day is taking a while.  We had such a wonderful two week holiday with almost no tensions or troubles – which is quite a contrast to when we left, Miss Four had gone through a VERY naughty stage but we won’t go into that.

The first half of our trip was spent in the beautiful quiet town of Karuah in Port Stephens NSW.  This is a part of the world I hadn’t visited before and it was such a delight to discover.  Karuah is probably the least touristy town in the area, it’s on the river rather than on the beach and it was the perfect place to reconnect and recharge the batteries.  We stayed in a cabin in a very quiet caravan park – not being school holidays in any state we pretty much had the place to ourselves, including a fabulous pool/water play area.  The wildlife was up close and personal with a family of kookaburras in the tree outside our front door, the rabbits were everywhere and the mozzies, oh were there mozzies (lots of repellent required!)

The trip to Karuah took us two days of driving.  I was nervous about this aspect, young children can get impossibly annoying and distracting when they’re over being in the car, but the girls were perfect!  We took the country roads from Ballarat to Violet Town and then the Hume to Goulburne (with a side trip to see the dog on the tucker box at Gundagai), where we stayed the first night.  The next day it was Goulburne to Sydney, Newcastle and then Karuah.

The highlights of this part of the trip were the gorgeous country towns we drove through – I worked on my photography from the passenger seat of a moving car skills, the results were inconsistent! – sampling the local produce (macadamias, avocados, cherries, strawberries, seafood and local beer and wine) and enjoying the coast and beaches.

Starting out at sunrise.

Starting out at sunrise.

IMG_0503 IMG_0532 IMG_0548 IMG_0555

 

I love the wide streets and rustic shop fronts of really small country towns – and we went through LOTS of these.

IMG_0500 IMG_0520 IMG_0546 IMG_0577

The vastness of the Australian landscape draws me in and for our whole trip the sky had that quintessential Australian blueness.

IMG_0543 IMG_0549 IMG_0557 IMG_0569

Some stops along the way, a park in Violet Town (with a community wood fired pizza oven, how divine), a bloody big submarine in Holbrook, the Dog on the Tucker Box at Gundagai, and some road side cherries.

IMG_0516

 

My favourite drive-by photograph.  I saw this beautiful old shed and had just enough time to snatch up my camera and snap.  Not bad.  I wonder what it was used for and who used it?

IMG_0585

 

Australia does love it’s BIG things, this one is the Big Merino in Goulburn.  It’s the only photo of Goulburn that I took which is a pity because it was full of interesting buildings and streetscapes.

IMG_0592 IMG_0599 IMG_0608 IMG_0611

IMG_0614

Newcastle, a city with two personalities, stunning parks and harbourside then mountains of coal and massive ship-loading machinery.

IMG_0618

 

The view from our cabin through the mangroves to the mouth of the river.

IMG_0620 IMG_0624

 

 

The wooden jetty just a minute from our front door.

IMG_0634 IMG_0640 IMG_0642

Macadamia tree forest, enjoying the beach in Nelson Bay and of course some very fast-melting ice cream, yum!  But oh so messy.

IMG_0646 IMG_0648 IMG_0652

 

The beaches and marinas of Port Stepens.

Part two will be coming up later in the week.  In the meantime I hope you’re getting organised for Christmas and not getting too stressed by it all.

 

 

This entry was posted in Lifestyle, travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Journey of Discovery – Part One

  1. Skud says:

    Welcome back! Your holiday sounds delightful, and I’m envious of your beachside cabin and kookaburras.

    I have some pea straw for you, whenever you’d like to pick it up (and maybe stop by for a cuppa).

    That shed reminds me of the chicory kilns at Philip Island, for whatever that’s worth.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks Skud, yes a wonderful trip. I’ll definitely stop for a cuppa and tour of the garden (or what you have planned anyway) when I pick up the pea straw. Is next week okay?

      I can see the resemblance to the chicory kilns, I wonder if it was the same thing?

  2. Linda says:

    My first reaction to the “shed” is Eucalyptus distillery, but the few photos that are around don’t seem to have the same height in the building. It is not a slaughterhouse, but I am wondering if it is a tannery. Would love to know. Brilliant picture.

  3. narf77 says:

    Sounds like a great break and hopefully it recharged your batteries ready for the Christmas onslaught. Cheers for sharing the mainland with me. I come from W.A. and being girt by sea was our birthright…here in Tassie the beaches are more like the U.K. pebbley jobbies BUT there is still sea, albeit cold ;). Welcome back and have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh I have a few more great beach shots to come in part two that I think you’ll enjoy narf. I too hope I survive the Christmas onslaught, I feel very disorganised and have lots of people landing on my door on the day. But I love it with the kids and Miss Four is really into the Christmas spirit this year for really the first time.

      • narf77 says:

        Its absolutely wonderful to visit Christmas through the eyes of your kids :). Mine are all grown up and we are off to share a communal Christmas with them all in the city on Christmas Eve, freeing up Christmas for all of us to celebrate in our own manner. Steve and I like simple “elegant sufficiencies” where my daughters are all about over the top leftovers for weeks gourmet grub and the son-and-heir and his Texan sweetie Kelsey, who are going through the immigration process are doing a blended Christmas idea so it should all work out nicely. I finally got around to decorating my homemade driftwood tree and it ended up looking like something that an Inn load of drunken pirates would produce BUT it’s ours and it certainly lights up the room when its dark! Have the best Christmas and make sure to take lots of photos of the kids…in years to come you will have that Christmas Spirit in bucket loads when your memories of what actually happened dim 🙂

  4. Linda says:

    One quick question – I am on a list where they will know what that “shed” is. But it would help if I knew where it was. Like a state, and what town it is near? Then we would know if it is a goldmining area (which I suspect from the trees) or not. Really would like to work out what it is.

Leave a Reply

