The Good Christmas 2013

For only the second time ever we had Christmas at home with family coming to us in Ballarat.  It was a fantastic day and the weather really put on a show – it turned quite hot by the end of the day, but was very pleasant inside (we’ve discovered that while this house is a bugger to heat, it stays beautifully cool in the warmer weather).  The last time we hosted Christmas day there were more people and we did a hot lunch, as tradition dictates.  I found this pretty stressful, especially given I had a young baby (it was Miss Four’s first Christmas) and Mr Good couldn’t get the Weber lit to cook the turkey!

This time I decided I wanted to enjoy the day more, not spend half of it in the kitchen and stress about getting everything cooked and hot at the same time (in a tiny kitchen with a tiny oven).  So we did cold, everything prepared ahead of time apart from a salad I needed to add the avocado to and dress.  We also had everyone contribute so the effort and cost was spread.  It was great, and not being a big eater or a particular fan of the heavy Christmas dinner, I preferred this option to the hot roast, all the trimmings and plum pudding.

Our spread included a cold roasted turkey, a baked ham, a salmon mousse, prawns (for starters) and a selection of salads.  We had a delicious mixed bean salad with home grown broadbeans, my mother-in-laws famous rice salad (Mr Good’s absolute favourite), a potato salad and a spinach, mango, avocado and macadamia nut salad.  And for dessert, as requested by me, ice cream pudding with dried fruit and crumbled plum pudding mixed through home made vanilla ice cream.  Mr Good’s aunt has made this for a few years now and I just love it.  She also did some frozen pureed raspberries in heart and star shapes for the kids.  They, too, were fabulous.

IMG_0010 IMG_0012

And while food is central to my Christmas day, there’s also the presents.  I think everyone felt spoilt by the end.  The girls got lots of lovely things, but as everyone had contributed to a new trampoline the rest of the presents were heavily curtailed, with lots of practical things like lunch box and drink bottles, books, pjs and hair clips.

Novelty glasses... Miss Two loves them!

Novelty glasses… Miss Two loves them!

IMG_0009

An early morning bounce on the new trampline

Mr Good’s big ticket item was a whipper snipper which he was very excited about.  The lawn edges have never looked better!

Santa giving Mr Good his whipper snipper

Santa giving Mr Good his whipper snipper

And I was thrilled with my new Horn sewing table, meaning I can set my machine up and leave it up without the girls being able to get at it.  It’s very compact with the storage compartment folding into the the desk part and the machine itself lowering right down so that half of the table top can fold over.  That sounds confusing now, but when I’ve got it all set up I’ll show you.  

We did have another Christmas with my family on Boxing Day.  I’ll share that one tomorrow night.

I hope you had a wonderful day with your family and friends.  I’d love to hear about it, and if you blogged your own leave me a link so I can check it out.

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Good Christmas 2013

  1. Your Christmas sounds great. Ours was too. Seems we have 1 big thing in common for our Christmases. You are the only other person I’ve ever heard of having ice cream plum pudding although yours is a little different. Ours is just the fruit and nuts from a plum pud mixed into icecream although mum often smashes up a crunchie bar to add in. I made mine this year (GF refined SF) with coconut cream ice cream and all the fruit n nuts and it was heavenly. 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh yes, I forgot the pudding had lots of lovely nuts – pistachio nuts this time – and it definitely wasn’t gluten or refined sugar free, but then nothing really is around here.

  2. A says:

    My mum had one of those horn cabinets and it’s marvellous. The penal lifting mechanism is the bomb. You lucky lucky lady for getting one! Very well done for rearranging your priorities for a big day!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Yes, I sure am lucky. Just having the machine set up ready to go is nice. No lugging it out of the cupboard, clearing the table and then being able start. Still can’t do it with the two little ones around, but at least if I do get half an hour to myself I don’t waste half of it setting up the machine.

      And I am so pleased I rejigged the Christmas day priorities so I could enjoy it with everyone else. Even if others were dubious about the idea of a cold dinner – it was a hit in the end.

Leave a Reply

